More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Def Jam: Icon Member Review for the PS3

supersonicjoker By:
supersonicjoker
03/21/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Chicago 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Lyrics, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I had never gotten into any of Def Jam's previous games and I must say I'm no longer a big rap fan so I was a bit hesitant to get this game.  But there's so few games on PS3 right now I wanted something new to play.  I'm glad I did.  I must say this is one of the most original and innovative games I've ever played.  Make no mistake, MUSIC is what this game is about and the way music is incorporated into the game is phenomenal.  The main single player mode is called "Build a Label."  You  start as just a regular street hustler and try to build yourself up to an ICON in the music biz.  And you do this by fighting you way to the top.  The storyline is often humorous and always violent.....which I like.  The actual fighting mechanics and gameplay is kind of slow and seems pretty similar to previous versions of the Def Jam games from what I know.  However there are some improvements like the right stick attacks very similar to Fight Night Round 3.  Even though the fight mechanics aren't what I would consider great and it is not the part of the game that is innovative, it is still a very addictingly fun game.  I found myself wanting to fight battle after battle in single player and in multiplayer.  The multiplayer is fun because you know the other guy is working with the same gameplay mechanics as you.  There's quite alot of different characters you can open up and choose to fight with in multiplayer.  The PS3 multiplayer I found to work very smoothly without any problems.  The one thing I noticed is that the response times of your blocking is slower online than single player which was kind of weird.  The music makes the game; along with the destructable and interactive  environments.  The fact that you can use music as a weapon is also one of the best parts of the game.  I had a ton of fun with this (and will continue to do so) solo.  But  I can see this being a perfect game for a group of friends kickin back with a few beers and competing against each other trash-talking and laughing the night away.  It would be a great time!!  I wish the Build a Label mode was deeper and longer but all in all I'm glad I got this game and I enjoyed it bunches!!!  It's not perfect but it is fun.


More information about Def Jam: Icon
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1159 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus