More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

God of War: Origins Collection Member Review for the PS3

Affen By:
Affen
10/18/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER SCEA 
DEVELOPER Ready At Dawn 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Kratos pocket tales hit the big screens

The God of War Collection Origins, A.K.A. Volume 2, includes enhanced versions of the 2 psp God of War games, Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta.

Graphics

Even with the HD update you can see the age in Chains of Olympus. The lack of details may shock at first, but when you get in the heat of the action everything’s fine. This affects only the real gameplay, cutscenes are glorious and pretty as always. I experienced few graphic glitches and quick freezes when travelling past certain areas, but otherwise the game played smooth.

Ghost of Sparta on the other hand looked like a true ps3 game. Details! Explosions! Blood and gore! Shiny stuff! Hallelujah! I had no problems with framerate or whatsoever.

Gameplay

Just like the other games. Beat up demons in variety of places with style. Combat is easy, fun and entertaining. Especially on higher difficulties when you really have to time your blocks, rolls and attacks or your ass is grass rather quickly.
These games differ from their bigger brothers by being more straightforward, which is understandable for former portable games. So don’t expect too many puzzles.
Both games have unlockable challenge rooms to extend the games lifespan a little. Ghost of Sparta also has a Combat Arena . Unlockables include some videos and art aswell.

Sound

One of my favorite things in the God of War series have been the epic orchestrals constantly blasting away in the back and these games don’t disappoint. Voice actors do a great job to tell a story.
In short: clashes, explosions, bone cracks and blood spurts sound great and the atmosphere is always around. I hate this word, but it’s epic, epic, EPIC!

Story

They fill some gaps somewhere between GoW 1 and 2. Both games go a little deeper into Kratos himself and his motives, but mostly revenge. Sweet, sweet revenge. Barely brings meat on bones, but hey it doesn’t matter!

Do you hate tits and violence in video games?  If so, this game is not for you, but if you are a fan of the series or the hack and slash genre, go ahead and buy it. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.


More information about God of War: Origins Collection
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 543 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution