More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Gaming For Good: Charity for the Win
Playing video games for charity is becoming easier everyday. Livestream, join a fundraising guild, or game at your own pace. There are many different ways gamers can contribute to numerous charitable causes.

PlayStation’s Colorful Console Past and Its Bright, White Future
Sony will release the white PlayStation 4 in September, so let's take a walk through the company's hardware history.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Gran Turismo 5 Prologue Member Review for the PS3

By:
Ivory_Soul
01/17/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Polyphony Digital 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: A lot of content for a large demo, super realistic, some great improvements

The Bad: Some bad improvements, lots of stuck stripped, some times it's just too real

When you think of racing games most older gamers will think of Gran Turismo: Graphics that push the current generation to it's limit, ultra realistic physics, and cars that drive like their real life counter parts to a T. Just when we thought racing couldn't get any better than Gran Turismo 4 for the PS2 back in 2005 Gran Turismo 5 rolls along on the PS3.

As the title suggests this is just a preview, or an over glorified demo, of that is to come in the full game coming out this year. While the game was released almost 2 years ago it still looks amazing today and the realism is so close to real life you can taste it. Everything you know about Gran Turismo has had a face lift and this includes the menu. Instead of all those icons on a map you are treated to your car being displayed in different countries in the background along with an even calendar and some new icons. The first thing you will notice is the fully fledged online play with up to 12 players. Second is the GT TV which lets you purchase episodes of car shows for the die hard car fanatics (I completely skipped this), but it's there. You have your regular events and single races instead of the standard simulation and arcade modes. You can go to the dealerships and pick your cars and jump into the events.

Some problems do pop up right form the start when buying a car since there are frequent loading screens between screens and the car info isn't displayed right. It scrolls across the bottom and you can only view the car if you click on it and have it load. There is no full detail spec sheet mainly due to the fact that you can't upgrade your cars. Yeah guys sorry. In the "demo" version of Gran Turismo 5 you just buy your cars and race as is. I have no idea is Polyphony is completely stripping this idea since it is also missing in the PSP Gran Turismo as well.

Once you buy your car (there are about 80 or so cars if you get the free Spec III update) you can go into your garage and sell cars from here as well as viewing them. Gone is the whole car wash thing, for now, but some sort of virtual tour of the car would have been nice as well as being able to use all the items in the car (c'mon you want ultra realism right?) Once you get into the event menu you can see the requirements for entering and these are limited to certain types of cars. Once you start racing you should get third or better to earn credits to buy more cars, rinse and ad infinitum. While this sounds dull each car handles surprisingly different and the AI s a real nice challenge. However, the usual time limits are set WAY to tight and is almost impossible to beat even when driving with the guide line and not crashing.

When you actually start driving you'll notice just how tight the controls are. You really like your turning a wheel thanks to the great analog stick of the DualShock 3 and the great vibration feature. Every car also sounds the same and the amazing in dash cockpit view (the first time in Gran Turismo) is beautiful, but I just wish you could turn the driver's head around. There aren't too many tracks to drive on, but there are a lot of familiar ones all the way back to the first game 12 years ago.

If you want to talk about aesthetics the game looks stunningly real. You can't really tell the car apart from something i real life and the tracks all look amazing, but I know i can look better and I hope the graphics engine i boosted a little for the final release.

While there are many flaws, and things missing, such as the driving tests, upgrades; there are a lot of things not improved like the super strict time limits, plus some times the game just is too real to be fun. Other than that for about $25 you can really have a good racer that will last you awhile or if you are a die hard Gran Turismo fan this will tide you over until the final release.


More information about Gran Turismo 5 Prologue
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 744 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution