More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Heavy Rain Member Review for the PS3

MeatPopsicle By:
MeatPopsicle
02/14/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Quantic Dream 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

A Game-Based Film Noir! (Action/Reaction, Cause/Effect)


Unfortunately for me this won't come out until the 24th of February, which now sucks cause I'm actually anxious to try it, I haven't felt more ****-teased after playing a demo since the old PSX days, but thankfully the demo's good enough to get me ready for the real deal. As Heavy Rain's tag says, "Make Choices, Face Consequences", so I like to share the little opinion I have based on this demo. (I envy you Tan)


*The screen follows an asthmatic private detective, an FBI agent (Who strangely looks like Moulder), and this hot short-haircut lady who wasn't included in the demo (Once again, ****-teased) as they all investigate and pursue a serial killer who is kidnapping children and dumping their bodies in the city's landfills leaving a piece of origami  and an orchid on the victim's chest. YOU control their fate as they go down this dark and damp journey, where your actions effect their story in a good or bad way.

*As for the gameplay, It literally felt like I was playing a part in a movie, which helped me immerse in this dark environment, the few visual styles i've seen are through cutscenes, explorative dirt-digging and suspenseful action,  because the moves you make will decide whether or not your character progresses or dies, and for a hint of realism, You Don't Come Back From Being killed (Unless through a defibrilator or zombification) the story goes on with the next protagonist.
Though through first appearence you'd believe this is a 3rd person based crime-solving game, it partly is, the camera angles sort of remind me of RE: Outbreak, even the asthmatic P.I. reminds me of a certain someone from RE:3 (The fat dude that locked himself in his truck at the beginning, only when you come back you find him with his gut ripped open) but the real beauty is through the games' cinematic moments of dialogue and action, this is what literally sold me, as every action you make comes an unpredictable reaction. Another key feature from this game is A.R.I. a pair of infared specs, that picks up on alien residue in the crime scene, a  major clue finder, so if you're to keep anyone alive for god's sake don't get Agent Jayden killed. My main complaint though is the issue of pushing and holding buttons until the previous box is filled and you push and hold the next button in sequence, for example I was playing as Agent Jayden in a crime scene while searching for clues, I find an orchid scent trail that leads to a series of footprints next to a muddy slope beside a highway overpass, to climb that slope I had to press & hold one  button until it's bar is filled, if it's not then i have to push the next button and hold both, if I let go of at least one then the agent slides down the muddy slope, which got me nervous 'cause I still assumed that trains were passing by since the crime-scene was next to train tracks.

What more can I say? I'll have to wait two more weeks for this to come out and it's such a tease, it's like Cartman's impatience for the Wii to come out.  I anticipate that this game will be good, so  based on the demonstration it delivers for an extremely good crime drama in the parallels of Se7en and  Silence of the Lambs though the controls can be a bit hard to get used to, it doesn't pull you away from of it's crowning moments, and it will definitely leave you emotional to the very end.

For that alone it gets an A- from me.

***************************************
+ Beautifully detailed graphics
+Cinematic Gameplay
+Gripping Story
+Suspenseful Action
+The story goes on
-/+Even if you messed up and died
-Hard to get used to controls
+Which is why I thank indicator icons
*****************************************





More information about Heavy Rain
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1984 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus