More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots Member Review for the PS3

shandog137 By:
shandog137
06/16/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Crude Humor, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Hands down, the greatest iteration of the game. I won't break down the points given to graphics, audio, and story etc... simply because they were all exceptional and there will be ton's of reviews for this game all in the A to A+ range. The story takes on a more prominent role in this game to the point that I started falling asleep through a couple 15-20 minutes sequences. These can be skipped but they flesh out the story the first time though and are presented so fluidly and interchangebly with gameplay that you can't fault them too much for them being so long (longer so than any of the earlier games, or any game for that matter).

Aside from the long cutscenes they have pretty much set a new standard for graphical quality on nex gen systems. The water effects, explosions, facial features, and environments are all top notch. The graphics are so good that it becomes a bit awkward when the camera ends up taking a high def close -up of Snake's crack (some things are better viewed at low res).

I have experienced 4 boss battles so far and there are numerous ways to defeat each. On Solid (Normal) mode the bosses seemed a bit easy but I have no doubt that since there are 2-3 difficulty levels higher there should be a challenge for every  skill level. Boss fights fit the classic form of either taking them out lethally or by non-lethal means. This provides different items depending on which route you take to dispatch them and also adds to the replay value.

The sound effects and musical score are also classic MGS style but taken to the next level particularly if you have a good surround sound setup. Kojima has implemented a new feature in this game which produces a circle around Snake during gameplay to symbolize his sense of the environment. It is awesome to see how well this feature matches up with the surround sound system. It's hard to explain but when the circle indicates an enemy approaching from the left of the character for instance you can hear the footsteps right where they should be coming from. You have to experience this one to understand how well the two systems work.

The multiplayer seems pretty standard with the exception of the tedious registration process. I have only tried the team deathmatch and it was fun and at a quicker pace than the game so I didn't fare so well the first time through. Other than that the graphics still look crisp and there are an assortment of features to create a unique character as well as weapon set-up.

In conclusion, if you have a PS3 then you must own this game. Even if you don't like the series you should get this game just to see what the PS3 is actually capable of. If you consider MGS 4 the benchmark for MGS games on the PS3 I can only imagine what the games will look like 4 years down the line. Consider the leap from Sons of Liberty to Snake Eater and the anticipation is simply killing me.  


More information about Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
 
comments powered by Disqus