More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots Member Review for the PS3

zambranitis By:
zambranitis
04/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Crude Humor, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There's just too much about this game that screams perfection. It's polished, it's balanced, it's creative and it's a lot of fun. One could argue that it's about 35% gameplay, 55% cut-scenes, 10% codec conversations. But it's all in the name of an epic conclusion to an epic storyline.

I can't help but thinking that the game's developer, Hideo Kojima, was not too excited about directing another Metal Gear game this time around, and it shows within the story. I was happy about how some things turned out, but there are just too many ridiculousness in some areas that you might as well picture Kojima giving you the finger and shouting: "Stop playing my damn game thinking I'm a genious so I can finally have some closure and focus on my other project... A Gay Romp with Adolf and Eva at Berchtesgaden."

Even with the gameplay elements that were updated, one feels that Kojima made it so he could please his crowd, but not himself. Now this is more a third person stealth action shooter with some horror moments in a platforming
world. But it's so well made, a story so well told that I can only bow in front of a true artist and enjoy the ride.

Metal Gear fans will react the same way they've been reacting to earlier games: They will be shocked at first, cry in fury later with denial, laugh at the "stupidnesses" of the story twists, have panic attacks, then they will sit still and watch the cut-scenes in a catatonic-esque state, and finally, after some game therapy and some awesome and rather easy boss fights, they will accept their fate and the fate of their beloved franchise. We Metal Gear fans are very much bipolar psychopaths.

But that's what we expect from this game. Something to torture our intellect and our emotions. And Kojima delivers entirely and elegantly. We go out with a bang. We go out fighting. Now that this is over, bring on that Hitler musical!


More information about Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
 
comments powered by Disqus