More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Mirror's Edge Member Review for the PS3

FriendlyStranger By:
FriendlyStranger
11/22/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA Games 
DEVELOPER DICE Stockholm 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Leaping, Flying...Falling

When I first heard of it I was pretty blown away at the concept of a 1st person take on parkour (Free-Running), but now after a short experience I can say it was pretty disappointing.

It's unfortunate because a game with this concept looks like it can go somewhere, unfortunately it seemed very incomplete & rushed. I've also experienced most of the downturns as explained in the original review; Sloppy game mechanics, image was a bit too bright & with nothing but bright whites & primary colors I'd be pretty surprised noone got color or height sickened. Another problem stated was that it was extremely repetitive including game controls, there are times where I use the same disarm move on 3 cops just by pressing triangle, before it would show a different way in disarming someone, but then it's the same disarming technique later, especially the fighting moves.

The game wasn't promising on having to complete it while dodging full on combat with a group of guys; you're placed in scenarios where it's hard to instantly find a quick exit, the moment you do find one chances are you'll get shot at, so main choice is beating them all up which sucks since there isn't more melee techniques, which almost made me want to just get a gun & shoot everyone, but I didn't...because I wanted some Playstation Trophies (Least I got Pacifist Trophy).

I've never felt more to not play a game after a 1st time, especially one that gives you the freedom of no GAME OVER, pretty ironic since not all people are perfect in leaping from building to buidling thinking they're Monkey Man, so a game like this would require respawning for SOME.

Apart from that I do credit the game for a way realistic 1st person feel, when it comes to jumping  & running obstacles it's like a 1st Person Prince of Persia, when it comes to fighting it doesn't even compare to Prince of Persia. There's no hud which makes 1st person feel more real & intuitive gameplay like certain objects to complete a stunt are marked like planks, a pile of cinderblocks, pipes, wall running & even suspension cables to scale from building to building, etc etc.

If you play it chances are you might not be persuaded to play again, probably from it's sheer repetitiveness & incomplete look, unless you're really that into it regardless of the flaws. It took me until the middle of Chapter 3 to make me quit it.


More information about Mirror's Edge
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1005 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus