More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mirror's Edge Member Review for the PS3

FriendlyStranger By:
FriendlyStranger
11/22/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA Games 
DEVELOPER DICE Stockholm 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Leaping, Flying...Falling

When I first heard of it I was pretty blown away at the concept of a 1st person take on parkour (Free-Running), but now after a short experience I can say it was pretty disappointing.

It's unfortunate because a game with this concept looks like it can go somewhere, unfortunately it seemed very incomplete & rushed. I've also experienced most of the downturns as explained in the original review; Sloppy game mechanics, image was a bit too bright & with nothing but bright whites & primary colors I'd be pretty surprised noone got color or height sickened. Another problem stated was that it was extremely repetitive including game controls, there are times where I use the same disarm move on 3 cops just by pressing triangle, before it would show a different way in disarming someone, but then it's the same disarming technique later, especially the fighting moves.

The game wasn't promising on having to complete it while dodging full on combat with a group of guys; you're placed in scenarios where it's hard to instantly find a quick exit, the moment you do find one chances are you'll get shot at, so main choice is beating them all up which sucks since there isn't more melee techniques, which almost made me want to just get a gun & shoot everyone, but I didn't...because I wanted some Playstation Trophies (Least I got Pacifist Trophy).

I've never felt more to not play a game after a 1st time, especially one that gives you the freedom of no GAME OVER, pretty ironic since not all people are perfect in leaping from building to buidling thinking they're Monkey Man, so a game like this would require respawning for SOME.

Apart from that I do credit the game for a way realistic 1st person feel, when it comes to jumping  & running obstacles it's like a 1st Person Prince of Persia, when it comes to fighting it doesn't even compare to Prince of Persia. There's no hud which makes 1st person feel more real & intuitive gameplay like certain objects to complete a stunt are marked like planks, a pile of cinderblocks, pipes, wall running & even suspension cables to scale from building to building, etc etc.

If you play it chances are you might not be persuaded to play again, probably from it's sheer repetitiveness & incomplete look, unless you're really that into it regardless of the flaws. It took me until the middle of Chapter 3 to make me quit it.


More information about Mirror's Edge
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 945 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution