More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction Member Review for the PS3

thetank By:
thetank
11/29/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Insomniac 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

First of all, I just want to say that when it comes to the Ratchet and Clank series, I'm about as impartial and completely unbiased as the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I even took great pride in clocking Ratchet: Deadlocked, for goodness sake! It probably all stemmed from years of childhood torture and bullying, that I needed some form of revenge, and beating the tar out of millions of robots with a wrench seemed to help. Needless to say, I'm a fan of the series.

So when I was lucky enough to get my hands on a copy of the newest installment (I say lucky, I work at a video store. FREE RENTALS!), I was ecstatic. And after playing the game, my elation was not unjustified. It's a dilemma for me, deciding which aspect of the game to talk about first. Where do you start when eating a donut, or drawing a circle? So I figure I might as well start where everyone else seems to. The graphics do the PS3 justice, and the game is presented with flawless clarity. I never noticed any obvious problems with the character animations, backgrounds, or explosion and other effects. That said, I am currently using my system on a TV smaller than your average car subwoofer. (Ah, the sacrilege...)

The gameplay has stayed relatively similar, so if you've played the other games in the series, the controls should be second nature. If not, they are easy to pick up, and you'll find Ratchet very easy to manipulate. The Sixaxis has been implemented in a few specific points in the game, specifically the minigames, but I got the feeling that for the slightly fiddly minigame situations, it was easier and more precise to turn off the motion control, and just use the analog sticks.

The story (and this is probably where my bias shines through) was easy to follow, but not without it's shortcomings. In the past, the story has been one of the defining points of the game, but in the newest edition, you feel a bit let down near the end of the game. And the major villain is about as threatening as Lord Farquaad from Shrek. Percival is not exactly the kind of name that strikes fear into the hearts of your enemies. These discrepancies do let the game down a bit, but nowhere near enough to stop this game being another breakthrough that the PS3 has needed. I also managed to play through the game the first time in just over an afternoon, probably around 8-10 hours, so whether or not that is a reflection of my awesomeness, or if it's just a short game escapes me.

I'm not going to talk about the weapons. Everyone before me, and everyone after me is going to do that. You'll have to experience them for yourself. My suggestion for Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction would be to rent it, form your own opinions, and if you like it, buy it. You wouldn't buy a donut because someone told you it tastes good, you'd buy it because you think it tastes good. Games are the same shape, so in theory the same rule applies. Don't take my word as gospel, but write your own game Bible.


More information about Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1656 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus