More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Resistance: Fall of Man Member Review for the PS3

By:
Ivory_Soul
01/31/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 40 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Insomniac Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Interesting alternate fire modes, interesting story, great setup and creature design, 30 players online

The Bad: Poorly balanced, stiff dated game play, dated visuals, online is a ghost town, frustratingly difficult to the point of no completion

Being a launch title is tough for some games because people want to know what the system is capable of. Of course consoles don't see their full capabilities until 5-10 years down it's life cycle. When the PS3 launched everyone wanted to see something that would be worth a $600 purchase, but I don't think Resistance was it.

You play as an infected soldier named Nathan Hale who is fighting alongside the British to rid of the Chimera infestation and save humanity. The game has a WWII setting that feels familiar yet not enough to be labeled as "Oh, one of those again".

The main problem with Resistance: The difficulty. Oh my god is this game hard, so hard in fact that I couldn't even finish the game. There are about 30 levels, but the game is just so damned impossible to beat even on the easy setting. The game uses the ancient art of health packs and the game mechanics just feel dated and stiff.

The only neat thing about the game are the weapons. You have regular fire modes, but interesting alternate fire modes such as the Bullseye's tag mode. You can tag an enemy and shoot around corners and the bullets will home in on the target. The sniper rifle lets you slow down time, one weapon even shoots up temporary shields. This, however, is not enough to save this frustratingly hard and linear game from getting sent right back to the store.

The story may seem interesting, but it's slow and doesn't pick up much. The graphics, compared to games now, are ugly and dated and don't seem fully HD. Every weapon, no matter how powerful, all feel like they do the same amount of damage. Each Chimera creature takes forever to kill almost two whole clips some times, even on the weak ones! The game throws way to many enemies at you at once, and your health goes to zero in about five seconds. There's not lean button, so this means the game is poorly balanced and not much play testing went on.

If you think the multiplayer saves the game it doesn't. You can have up to 30 players on one map, but no one is playing this online anymore, and the firefights are boring and a huge mess thanks to the dated stiff game play. I love the creature designs and the way levels are setup, but this game just feel out of it's time frame. One last thing that makes the game almost unplayable is the lack of ammo. This isn't a survivor horror is it? Then give me more ammo it's a war! I'm sorry Insomniac, but please stick with Ratchet & Clank because I don't think shooters are your forte.


More information about Resistance: Fall of Man
 
comments powered by Disqus