More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Resistance: Fall of Man Member Review for the PS3

By:
Jen5en
06/24/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 40 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Insomniac Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This review is written looong after Resistance's official release, but this surely doesn't make it any less relevant since it still is the best (if not the only) shooter on the Playstation 3. One of the things Resistance: Fall of Man had to put up with was the comparison to next-gen heavyweights like the critic-worshipped Gears of War from Epic for the Xbox 360. It is worth mentioning that there are several things that needs to be considered before we can begin to play gaming-experts.

Now, it is true that in terms of the polished experience Gears of War delivers, Resistance can't keep up; the level design in GOW far surpasses Resistance, so does the character modelling and so on. But... the all important BUT, GOW was 3 years in the making and it came out when the Xbox 360 was a cummon sight in stores. Therefore, let's see what it is that Resistance compensates for in terms of competition:

First off, the engine suffers from all the juicy details seen elsewhere since its designed to power 40 people online, without lag I might add. And still we have cool physics like glass breaking realistically and ARBITRARILY, which is rare to see in massive online shooters. GOW can maximally handle 8 and sometimes lags intolerably.

Secondly, there's the quantity over quality in Resistance: I tried to count how many enemies I mowed down in a single scene; I counted 124, ragdolled, shaded Chimera that lied flat on the ground. And that's not even including my own fellow soldiers that were scattered all over the scene as well. While the firefights in GOW are more hectic in a strategic sense, they never really match the scale of Resistance in terms of size. In Resistance, a typical Chimeran wave of consists of 30 to 40 soldiers, all of them behaves accordingly to your movements, they all get to cover, strafe, duck and shoot.

Finally; Resistance is a LAUNCH title, as in developed by people with all new software on their hands. GOW had as mentioned 3 years in its developement. While it's true that the stuff in GOW looks better, there's much less of it.

I know it's childish and fanboyish to compare the 2 in a REVIEW, I'm just tired of a brilliant piece of code being slaughtered by biased reviews around the net, and when I'm writing this review I want to assure people that have just bought a PS3, that Resistance is an awesome experience both off- and especially online. It will stand as a classic. Surely is doesn't completely wield the power of the PS3 in terms of sheer graphics, but boy does it compensate in physics and online capability! Viva la Revolution!


More information about Resistance: Fall of Man
 
comments powered by Disqus