More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Gaming For Good: Charity for the Win
Playing video games for charity is becoming easier everyday. Livestream, join a fundraising guild, or game at your own pace. There are many different ways gamers can contribute to numerous charitable causes.

PlayStation’s Colorful Console Past and Its Bright, White Future
Sony will release the white PlayStation 4 in September, so let's take a walk through the company's hardware history.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Silent Hill: Homecoming Member Review for the PS3

Sea-Change By:
Sea-Change
03/28/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER The Collective 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

 

Homesick.

 

October 2008; I remember it being a brisk and cloudy time of year. Fallout 3 and LittleBigPlanetwere just around the corner; and, at the time, I needed something to keep me busy until I was blowing away irridated freaks from the scope of my bolt action rifle. With the little money I had left from washing dishes and bussing tables at a local pub the previous summer, I decided to spend the money on one of two games. The first choice seemed modest enough: a Resident Evil 4 style shooter set in the cold vastness of space. The other was Silent Hill: Homecoming

 

Now, being a Silent Hill fan since the third installment, the choice seemed rather obvious. I didn't read online reviews at the time; since the whole concept of basing your purchase on the opinion of some renowned critic seemed "conformist" and "gay" to a confused, misanthropic and generally unlikable fifteen year old private school brat. It wasn't the right move. I could see the trepidation on the store employee's face as I handed him a copy of Homecoming from the shelf; his expression mirroring the stone-faced protagonist's on the front cover. After a small, stilted conversation about the survival horror genre in general, he rang my purchase and I was on my way. I went home, wedged the sucker into my PS3 and started playing.

 

My immediate impressions were that of familiarity and delight:"Press START button to begin" jittered under the game logo in white lettering as the background showcased a gloomy, fog-ridden town accomponied by an orchestral score no doubt coming from the series' musical auteur Akira Yamaoka. Upon choosing the "Normal" difficulty (the other option being "Hard"); the game segues into a first person view of a  man strapped into a hospital stretcher as he's  being pushed down a disturbingly dark corridor to the ambient sounds of air sirens and gunfire (a la Jacob's Ladder). Throughout this scene, the subdued man mightily asks questions such as: "What's going on here?!" and  "Where are you taking me?!" as what looks like children are being torturted and mutilated in the passing rooms. The nurse, who is wearing blood spotted scrubs silently wheels the man into a room that eerily resembles an ER, leaving him there alone.

 

From this point, you control Alex Shepherd, a young ex-soldier recently discharched from the service upon recieving a wound in action. Alex then promptly returns home to find his hometown and family in a state of disarray. Alex's brother Josh; their father as well as the majority of the children in Shepherd's Glen are missing, and it's up to Alex to find them; as well as link the events surrounding the town of Silent Hill to Alex's elusive past. 

 

Given his experience, Alex is very adaptable in combat; being able to dodge and counter enemy attacks in a fashion that is nearly seamless. With an array of weapons at his disposal, Alex can: hack, slash, shoot and pummel the deformed abominations that wander the desolate streets of Shepherd's Glen and Silent Hill. Gone is the fixed cameras angles and the "clunky" controls of installments past; giving way to an over-the-shoulder and action-oriented experience that was unknown to the series until then. The enviroment overall is more interactive, with Alex being able hop over ledges and break down doorways like Jack Nicholson in The Shining. Some obstacles must be overcome at later points in the game however; such as a doorway introduced early in the game that can only be opened by using a ceremonial device which isn't acquired until the 60% mark.

 

Speaking of environment, this is where Homecoming stays the most true to the previous installments (perhaps to the point where it becomes more a hinderance rather than an addition). Expect to see familiar (some say overused) locals such as: hospitals, sewers, hotels, clinics and chapels in both their frightening fog and nightmarish Otherworld iterations. A few interesting new ones have been introduced however, namely a cemetary, a junk yard and Alex's own humble aboad; but none of which are intersting enough to add anything new and exciting. 

 

A lot has been taken verbatim from the 2006 film as well; which in turn had been greatly influenced by the series magnum opus Silent Hill 2; namely: the busty demonic nurses, the armless creatures which blast a toxic substance out of their chests  and (wait for it) Pyramid Head himself who shows up for nothing other then blantant fan service. The town of Silent Hill itself has a much more industrial feel to it; which, again beckons back to the film.

 

Homecoming has it's share of originality from the rest of the series however. The boss battles are sometimes frustrating, but offer a new sort of challenge which is superior to the circle strafing approach of installments past. Apart from the aforementioned monsters related to the movie, the other horrors that lurk in the fog are inspired and creepy; resembling sick contornists and representing the warped mind of our protagonist. There's one type of monster that has a bladed pendelum for a head. This is Silent Hill after all.

 

Unfortunately, the story is where Homecoming falls short. I think anybody who has played any given Silent Hill game in the past will be able to piece fully what's going on hours before the game comes to it's unsatisfactory conclusion. The script has a more polished feel to it however, and the voice acting is on par with the Playstation 2 iterations. During scenes you interact with one of the game's many, erm,colorful  cast of characters; dialogue options sometimes become available to the player, although they almost always lead to the same results, making this addition essentially useless. Most of the time, that is.

 

Overall, while Silent Hill: Homecoming is a thematically stellar game; it doesn't fair well to the other Silent Hills; most of which are the apex of mood and storytelling. It's not in league with the other games, and on it's own, it's utterly forgetful. A game casual audiences don't notice and fans of the series choose to forget. 

 

"Love begins at home, and it is not how much we do... but how much love we put in that action."-Mother Teresa

---

"Home is whenever I'm with you!"-Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes

 

 

BRASS TACKS: B-

+Revamped combat mechanics

+/-...which take away the horror aspect of the game

+/-Okay story

-"Been there, done that" execution

-Funky facial animations 

-Gimmicky

 

Originally written: 3/20/2012


More information about Silent Hill: Homecoming
 
Silent Hill: Homecoming
fullfullfullemptyempty
Views: 419 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution