More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 Member Review for the PS3

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/07/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER City Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

630365_210032_frontPublisher: City Interactive

Developer: City Interactive

Release Date: 3/12/2013

Rating: Mature

MSRP: $29.99

Also Available On

PS3 Logo

Xbox Logo

 

 

bar

The Good: Some mindless fun in spots, some times clearing an area undetected feels satisfying, the story tries to be interesting, decent graphics, weapons feel good to shoot

The Bad: Story falls flat in the end, almost every element is broken in some way, some graphical eye sores, only a couple of weapons, boring multiplayer, linear to a fault, dumb AI

Sniper: Ghost Warrior was a game trying to be different, a sniper simulator similar to Sniper Elite, but much worse. Ghost Warrior 2 improves upon the predecessor a lot, but is still not worth the price of admission. I actually wanted to be interested in the story, it kept trying to pull me in, but it just fell flat in the end. The voice acting is actually pretty decent if cheesy some times. I don't know why you're on these missions, it never explains. All I know is that you're hunting a guy named Marinov or something like that and trying to stop the selling of bio-weapons.  A typical present-day military story, but the plot twists actually had me interesting, almost.

2166671-2012_04_03_00097

The game actually is a lot of fun, but all the gameplay mechanics are half-baked and fall flat. The game is supposed to be a sniper simulator, but it holds your hand through every scenario. It marks who to shoot in what order, how far away they are, and even gives you a red dot to accommodate for which way the wind is blowing. With the sniper rifles rendered in such high detail, why not let us figure it our for ourselves? Well, the average 15 year old Call of Duty player wouldn't like that that's why. The shooting feels fine but all the sniper rifles feel exactly the same, all three. There is a serious lack of weapons to begin with, your only other weapon is a silenced pistol, that's it. I understand you're a sniper but why not a silenced sub-machine gun or something?

The other major issue is that every single gameplay mechanic is broken in some way. The game tries to implement stealth but it doesn't work. I was able to just walk around without being detected and even run. Stealth kills don't work right and are unsatisfying because the animations are terrible, and the death kills aren't very gruesome. Even the bullet cam shots suck, it's nothing like Sniper Elite V2. On top of all this the AI is dumb as dirt. In one mission I alerted everyone but stepped into a bush and not a single enemy saw me even after I stepped out again. I was able to kill everyone and non of them even looked for me. Some times I died during scripted events without knowing why. Having your core gameplay elements break is not fun.

sniper_ghost_warrior_2_34

Ghost Warrior 2 fails in making a sniper simulator like it wants. The game is highly linear and is nearly on-rails. The upside is that the game is still mindless fun. Some times when the game does let you on your own and you have to clear an area, things like killing two enemies with one bullet and clearing the whole area without getting detected feels a bit satisfying. Other than that it was the same scenarios repeated until the game ended. Snipe these enemies, sneak around a bit, scripted event, cut scene, hide, snipe these enemies, rinse and repeat.

The game actually looks pretty decent, but doesn't use CryEngine 3 like Crysis 2 or 3 has at all. It doesn't take advantage of the DirectX 11 features at all. The game looks like medium-high settings on Crysis 2. It still looks good, but there are some eye sores. Plants that you sneak through move at a low framerate and are literally just flat textures that bend around. The cat tails are not even in 3D and look like something from a PS2 game. A huge oversight or just plain lazy? I don't know. Don't even ask me about the multiplayer because no one is playing and it's boring anyways.

da90l

Overall, Ghost Warrior 2 is mindless fun but not worth the price of admission. Every core element is broken in some way and even the graphics are broken in spots. Pick this up when it's $5 or less, otherwise pass it up and play Crysis 3 instead.

alienware


More information about Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2
 
Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2
fullfullemptyemptyempty
Views: 1392 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution