More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Darkness Member Review for the PS3

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
07/10/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Starbreeze Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Unique and Refreshing

By: XboxLiveLover
July 10th, 2007

Part crime caper and part supernatural, but all good.

This is what innovation in gaming is all about.

As opposed to a pedestrian licensed movie game, The Darkness (on PS3 and Xbox 360), puts you into a wild world of fantasy/first-person shooter with a fresh story and unique gameplay.

The story has you as a sort of anti-hero who has the ability to grow giant tentacles, spawn monstrous little demons and attack your enemies by dispatching them from all manner of strategic points.

The key to the game, hence the title, is the darkness. You need to hide in the dark to charge your powers, then you use them as you pop into light and take out the human villains you face.

Along the way you have to take out the lights along the path to charge your powers. It was somewhat reminiscent of the old Bond Goldeneye games for me, stalking down hallways taking out surveillance cameras. Only with tentacles and tiny, chewing-and-clawing monsters.

While you are out in the light in human form and on your way to missions, there's a huge city to trawl around -- on the subway, by foot -- which gives the game a certain sense of freedom.

Unique and refreshing, we need more games like The Darkness to keep gaming fun.

What’s right:
Good story; different way to play; fun multi-player mode where you can play as little Darklings.
 
What’s wrong:
Skulking about in the shadows to renew power is sometimes a bit too stealthy in certain settings and can be slow.


More information about The Darkness
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1372 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution