More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune Member Review for the PS3

kingobling By:
kingobling
11/21/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Naughty Dog 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

            Naughty Dog, you have definitely been naughty.  I finished playing Uncharted: Drakes fortune, and was impressed with several things.  For one, this is graphically one of the best games I’ve seen.  Naturally, High Def TV owners will get to fully experience the joy of seeing Nathan Drake’s beige-ish shirt turn grayish because he is drenched after being in the water, and the jungle being green as real life.  A few flaws here and there, seeing a little white line separating the ground from the wall from time to time, but it’s definitely nothing to fret over. 
    The story was well put together and I was eager to find out more of the clues that Nathan was gathering up.  The game is very similar to the movie National Treasure with Nicolas Cage, so for you treasure hunters, the game should be captivating.
    The acting was strong.  There’s nothing like a good game getting destroyed because the actors can’t recreate the nature of being sad, mad or happy.  Instead they sound like a robot that adds an exclamation mark to the end of the sentence…hence Devil may Cry 2.  But uncharted has solid character development, and I really took a liking to Nathan’s ass-kicking/joking attitude.
    However, in this day and age of Call of Duty 4 and Heavenly sword, it never gets old to be surrounded by 3 dozen baddies and have you and your fellow AI teammates take em’ down.  Uncharted doesn’t have that, instead we fight 4 to 6 baddies at once, but the AI is decent enough.  In one level I tried stealth killing a whole room, but my efforts were futile due to the fact that the bad guys never quite have the same walking sequence.  They would speed up at a certain point in my first try, but slow down at the exact same point during my second try.  So I just took out my shotgun and shot em’ all up in frustration, which in turn, released my tension. 
    Game play is good, but nothing revolutionary.  Nothing that we haven’t seen. We have a choice to stealth kill, hand to hand kill, or gun kill.  I preferred the latter because it was the quickest was to go.  But it does have good replay value because you can attempt to use another method of killing to get through your 2nd attempt.  Also, collecting all the 60 treasures hidden around the 20 chapters would be another good reason to play it again. This unlocks concept arts and scene videos, and makes you feel proud that you’ve completed all the challenges from 100 headshots to blowing up 3 people in one shot with a grenade.

            All in all, solid game that deserves a solid B+.  Again, nothing groundbreaking here, but it’s clear that Naughty Dog put a lot of effort into making the game.  It’s stunning graphics and interesting story makes Uncharted way more of a good game then a bad one.


More information about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution