More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Valkyria Chronicles Member Review for the PS3

katima By:
katima
04/23/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sega WOW 
DEVELOPER Sega 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Mild Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The good:

Well, I've played this game for awhile now, and I must say, it is one of the most unique strategy-turn based-RPG I have ever played. The graphics are amazing, and it feels like you are playing inside a painting. Every unit has their own unique ability that can help or hurt your squad. For example, one unit may have night vision, but likes to work alone. Another may be lethal against snipers, but is allergic to the desert. These are just a couple of examples. There are loads of variation and the game is surprisingly deep.

The characters are beautifully made. I've even fallen in love with some of them. The story is gripping and you're always curious what will happen next. There is a decent amount of weapons to use, but its your strategy that really makes a difference. There are funny moments, romantic japanese style moments, and heart pounding moments. It really breaks my heart to see one of my units die. In fact, if possible, I would have wanted them all to survive at the end of the game.

The game also has a lot of glossary and biography. You'll have to do a lot of reading in the game in order to understand practically everything in this made up world. Some people may see this as a burden, but I do like reading stuff like this, so kudos to the game for putting all the effort in explaning every detail of the gaming world.

The game play is unique in a way. Its half turn base and have RTS. Baddies will shoot at you while you run around the field, but you take turn doing intial attacks. I think its also RPG in a way because you can choose who you want to recruit, modify weapons, and choose certain paths in the game.

The bad:

The reviewer was right. There really are WTF moments in this game. The AI really isn't very bright. Just when you think it will use all its command points to kill you, it ends up doing something else. If only they knew that killing the tank would cause the player to lose, they could just use all their command points to blow it up. But no, they don't do that. Instead they do something not reasonable like walk around, shoot low percentage shots, and waste command points for nothing.

Also, there are some wonkey stuff with the violence level. I woudln't call them a glitch or a bug, but when you run over poeple, they just bounce off and reappear somewhere close. Also when units die, they just drop like dolls achieving death positions impossible to comprehend. Like they just lost their spine or something.

The battlefield is too linier. If you play a mission once and failed, you'd be an idiot to play it again and fail as well. You'll know where the units are. You know the obsticles. And you can take advantage of the game system the second time around. So replaying the game might get a bit boring. And once you've played it long enough, you'll just get fed up and look for another game.

Overall:

So it has its flaws. But if you could just look pass them and just appreciate the game for what it is, a unique-RTS-RPG-Turn base game, then you're in for a treat. Although this game would appeal to younger gamers, casual gamers might get a kick out of it as well. Its not the best strategy game I've ever played, but its got great graphics, and the game play will hopefully open up new avenues in future sequels.

Peace.


More information about Valkyria Chronicles
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 850 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution