More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Strike Suit Zero: Director's Cut Member Review for the PS4

BigTruckSeries By:
BigTruckSeries
08/07/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Born Ready Games 
DEVELOPER Born Ready Games 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Colony Wars  was a space combat simulator video game for the PlayStation developed and released by Psygnosis in 1997. It was later followed by Colony Wars: Vengeance in 1998, and Colony Wars: Red Sun in 2000.


Strike Suit Zero is basically a clone of Colony Wars. (down to some of the sound FX)  17 years later, with HD visuals, the power of multicore CPU's over one Gigabyte of video Memory and the lack of disc loading times. 
Unfortunately, Strike Suit Zero pales in comparison to its 17 year old forebearer - which is actually a better game to play. 
How is this so?


#1 SSZ tosses a "mecha" robot suit into the mix which must be recharged via "flux" - a bonus award granting you the ability to transform and use slightly more powerful weapons than you could as a spaceship.  Unfortunately, it doesn't come together as you might hope it would. Switching to suit mode doesn't make you any stronger and only makes you a bigger target for the computer controlled opponents which are already excellent shots.  The mecha can dodge attacks, but the control scheme is horrible for doing so. 
 
#2 Speaking of controls, the original Playstation offered a DUAL ANALOG FLIGHT STICK (I still have), which is probably the best designed joystick I've used other than Saitek's X-45.  The DAFS allowed you full access to all the fighter's controls and made piloting from the 1st person perspective simple, fun and immersive.   Probably the best space combat sim ever made (since Babylon 5 never hit production). 

These controls are awkward and never give you the full feeling of flight or space combat I got out of the 17 year old PS game.  Even the PS controller functioned better. 
 
#3 Combat is tedious and not as exciting as COLONY WARS'.
 
The HUD is the biggest victim here, lacking a roll indicator, speedometer, radar, and more. These are staples of even the simplest of flight games, and without them, it can be difficult to keep track of where your enemies and allies are during a big fracas. Facing four to one odds in a dogfight an be an enjoyable challenge, but not when you're flying blind and have no idea who or what is hitting you.
 
#4   The weapons aren't very exciting, The mecha suit is unnecessary (since you never fight on the ground or land on the hull of spacecraft or space stations to fight (ala Teknoman) and the J-Pop techno music is downright annoying. Colony Wars had an excellent orchestra-grade Sci-Fi/military soundtrack which is still excellent to this day. 
 
#5 The game has a ranking system which feels tacked on. An afterthought - you won't have any clear understanding of how you're performing until you've been graded at mission's end.  
 
 
OVERALL:  There are iPhone apps far superior in execution which offer superior space combat fun than this game.STAR PAGGA is one of the better games I can think of.  The Galaxy on Fire series are even better. 
 
I downloaded Strike Suit Zero free on Xbox One's Games For Gold. It is an interesting diversion, but not well executed or polished. If I'd paid for it, I'd be upset. 


More information about Strike Suit Zero: Director's Cut
 
Strike Suit Zero: Director's Cut
halfemptyemptyemptyempty
Views: 1760 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus