More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Transistor Member Review for the PS4

Ivory_Soul By:
Ivory_Soul
06/14/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action-RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Supergiant Games 
DEVELOPER Supergiant Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Fantastic audio/visual experience, fun combat, completely customizable weapons

The Bad: Story makes almost no sense, doesn't really have a sense of direction or purpose, you can't really connect to any characters, game can be overly frustrating at times

Bastion was a fantastic game with a memorable narrative and fast paced combat. Transistor slows it down a bit with more strategic combat and a slightly less memorable story. The story is about love. The whole story never really makes sense, you're just thrown in the middle of some battle between a woman named Red, a man named Grant, and a sect called the Camerada. I had no idea who this rebellious sect was, who Red was, or who Grant was. I guess that's kind of the point. You're in some sort of computer world and the Transistor is your weapon. A horde called the Process is trying to kill you.

The combat can be done in real time or you can stop time and plan out your moves. These moves eat away at a meter so you need to plan carefully. Each enemy has a different play style so you really need to adjust and learn each one. Your combat moves are completely customizable which is a nice touch. At Access Points you can load a main type of weapon onto each face button. There are two add-ons for each button and these will add characteristics to that weapon. Of course you can make any weapon you have the main weapon. This is great because it allows for many combinations of weapon types. However, you have a limited amount of addons you can use until you upgrade your maxed out stats. I found a very frustrating feature to be your weapons are your health. Once you lose health a weapon will break until you get to two access points again. If all four weapons break it's game over.

I honestly felt the game never really came together in any way except maybe the art and audio. The music is fantastic and the game is wonderful to look at. There are some boss fights thrown in but they're extremely tough and will frustrate most players. I also found the game to be way too short; coming in at about 5 hours. With that said the main focus is combat here. The game is intense and the added element of strategy and the combination of weapons is all up to you. There's a small test area you access to hone your skills (kind of like Bastion) but in the end this game isn't something I'm going to remember a year from now. It's a nice attempt at a spiritual successor but doesn't really come close.

The game also lacks in replay value. It felt so frustrating that the last thing I wanted to do was play again. For serious masochist there are limiters you can add to make the game even harder. Once you kill an enemy a cell will bust out. You get so many seconds before that enemy respawns unless you absorb the cell. A limiter can put a shield around this requiring you to break it before absorbing it to gain more XP. But remember, once you have used your time stopping ability to plan out your combat you can't fight in real time until it recharges. You can literally lose a whole health bar in that 5 seconds.

With that said, if you loved Bastion you're not really missing much here except some eye and ear candy. The story makes no sense despite having a touching ending, and I never really connected with any characters. It's a fun weekend play through not much more than that.
 
(Review based on PC version)


More information about Transistor
 
Transistor
fullfullfullhalfempty
Views: 1517 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus