More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Coded Arms: Contagion Member Review for the PSP

By:
Ivory_Soul
09/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Creat Studio 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Top notch production values, infrastructure, better control scheme, everything is updated from the first

The Bad: Everything else is pretty bad and bland, including the level design, weapon design, and AI, infrastructure is a bore, stupid story, Konami please just give up on this...

I remember being suckered into buying Coded Arms back when the first one came out. I regretted it and was probably the worst buy I've ever made. While Contagion updates everything of the first game and is a big improvement it doesn't do anything new and doesn't do what isn't new very well. Contagion's new features are a story that is somewhat boring and lame. A new "hacking" system where you can hack doors by matching numbers and this on it's own is annoying and lame. While you're trying to hack a turret you're vulnerable to fire so there really isn't a point of the hacking to have the turret help you. The upgrade system is broken since you can only upgrade to a certain point until you finish enough levels. You always end up with surplus upgrade points and nothing to upgrade. The AI is handicapped; while it's better then before it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. Another thing is the level design is so bland like the first. That is probably the only thing that is the same. Another factor here is there is going to be ANOTHER Coded Arms on the PS3 later and we'll just get a next-gen bore fest. The game now has infrastructure but for only 4 players and is pretty boring. The only REALLY good thing here are the production values. Contagion sports some of the best graphics and audio in any PSP game but all this is wasted on the poor gameplay. Despite it's numerous flaws Contagion is still fun and is really worth a play through while you wait for the fall PSP blockbusters to show up. If you hated the first one you probably won't like this one but play it anyone just for the fun.


More information about Coded Arms: Contagion
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 924 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution