More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Sid Meier's Pirates! Member Review for the PSP

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/20/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Full Flat 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Sid Meier's Pirates: PSP

Sid Meier is known for developing MASSIVE games that take years to fully understand and to enjoy. While am Sid Meier's fan, I was excited to see how he would take a deep game like Pirates from the PC and put it into the PSP.

Luckly, I was not dissapointed. While there are some noticible changes, as ship combat is simpified, and so is Character interactions. No mouse for the PSP.

Still, all the elements that made the game so addiciting is still there.  The battles, the sword fighting, and the exploring. I spent alot of time surfing the coast, looking for booty to punder, and ships to rape.

Ah, what fun!

While the remade Pirates still is nothing more than a vast improvment from the NES version, the PSP version is still... Pirates.

Much of the actions are still the same, and most important is the non-liner gameplay.  Feel like picking on the spanish, and being a English Adrimal, and killing all the Pirates in the Carribean? Go for it!

Treasure's got your fancy? Have fun finding all the buried treasure!  There is so much to do in this game, and the replay value is to the extreme. 

Though there are some flaws... Pirates has been out for sometime for the PC.  Thus, this game has lost most of its hype.  The PSP version can easly be picked up for a small fee, and while all the classic gameplay is there, I did find the game much easier than the PC version.

Boring.... While I enjoy an easier game, Sid Meier is not known for simple games. His manuals alone for his civ series took me weeks to read, even more time to acutally incorporate them into gameplay.

Still, Pirates is Pirates, no matter the system or the new features or soundtrack.  Can't say much bad about a Sid game, except some PSP onwers might be a little dissapointed.

 


More information about Sid Meier's Pirates!
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1939 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus