More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Silent Hill: Origins Member Review for the PSP

By:
Ivory_Soul
11/21/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Astounding graphics and audio, neat new fighting system, easy puzzle solving and navigating

The Bad: Sluggish combat, bland story, short, sometimes a bit too easy

The first thing you'll notice about Origins are it's out of this world graphics. With real time lighting, fog effects, and highly detailed textures, you'll wonder if this really is a PSP game. SH improves upon the previous installments by giving us a brand new story, a new fighting system, and ways of exploring. You are Travis Grady who is a trucker and gets stuck in the deadly town of Silent Hill. While you're there you save a girl from a fire and confront a mysterious girl named Alyssa. While the story isn't that great and has a pointless ending you'll be playing for the thrills. Origins is extremely scary especially when played with headphones and in the dark. Instead of switching between worlds at certain points you can do it on the whim by using mirrors. I found this makes puzzle solving a lot easier and you can be more organized and keep track of things easier.

Origins is a lot easier on the puzzle solving and navigating, unlike other SH games, and I completed the whole thing without a FAQ. The combat system is decent with context sensitive button presses and tons of weapons to find. You can use firearms and melee weapons. While the melee weapons do break after a while you can still use your fists. The thing is the combat system is very sluggish and can make fighting so hard. It takes forever for Travis to recover from a hit and by the time you're ready to swing you get hit again. While the system is neat it needs improvement. With all this tied together into a bloody bow you'll love Origins and you'll want to play it again and again.


More information about Silent Hill: Origins
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1168 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution