More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Tekken: Dark Resurrection Member Review for the PSP

damo_ds By:
damo_ds
10/28/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER Namco 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Crude Humor, Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

To be honest, I didn't know what to expect from Tekken 5: Dark Resurrection. The last of this franchise that I played was Tekken 3 on my old Playstation (I loved it by the way.) I was wondering what Namco could do differently with such a concept as a fighting game. The I played it and found out...

The most noticeable thing for me was the huge range of fighters to choose from at the character select screen...  I didn't know some of them (because I never played Tekken 4,) but fans would probably know most of them. However the two newbies are Lili, a primp and proper street fighter (now there's a paradox) and Sergei Dragunov, a ruthless Russian army commander, who uses Commando Sambo, a modern martial art developed by the Soviet Union. All the other regulars are there, all with a huge range of moves to master.

Now to the game modes. Arcade offers unlimited opponents to fight against, while your character rises through fighting ranks and gradually begins to face tougher, smarter opponents. Story mode allows you to follow each individual character's story, and the reason they entered the tournament. After beating Jinpachi Mishima, an impressive looking cut scene is presented.
Tekken Dojo mode allows you to rise through the ranks of a wide range of dojos, which can get quite difficult in the later levels. There are also Attack modes (Time Attack, Gold Rush and Survival) and Bonus games that need to be unlocked. A particular highlight is Tekken Bowl, which results in money for how efficiently you can knock down pins (amusingly, using Yoshimitsu in this mode engages a targeting reticle in his mask, making him a very accurate bowler.) Money earned from any of these modes can be used to unlock costumes and/or cut-scenes from characters that you can't be bothered using or don't like. The costumes, strangely, are actually quite entertaining, like Forest Law balancing a bowl of noodles on his head or Lee Chaolan in full Tekken Force armour.

Overall, this game is an excellent addition to any PSP enthusiasts collection, and will keep you entertained for a very long time.


More information about Tekken: Dark Resurrection
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1189 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus