More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth Member Review for the PSP

By:
lilcarlton
10/03/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square-Enix 
DEVELOPER Tri-Ace 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Language, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I have never played the PS1 version of this game so I didn't know what to expect when I bought it for my PSP! 

First of, I love RPG's but I do not love all of them.  Valkyrie Profile is an ok title for the PSP.  I mean, if you are looking for a decent RPG title for the PSP then Valkyrie Profile delivers.  It's quite different from other RPG's as far as game play.  There are no random battles - which can be good or bad - depending on what type of gamer you are.  When you do choose to fight - your characters can do 'combo' attacks - which make the game a bit more interesting - but still - battle can get repetitive.

As far as the storyline - I found it a bit hard to follow and find out what to do or where to go next because you can't really just explore for the hell of it because you will be using up precious time - called periods if you do - and you only get so many periods in a chapter so there is not much room for error when planning your next move in Valkyrie Prolfile.  That can be a bit frustrating. You will most likely be exploring cities and if nothing useful is found you will wind up loading a saved game to get your time back. 

I kinda like the fact that there are no shops and you can create your own items when you need to - well at least while on the world map or in a save spot.  It helps to have stuff already made because you cannot make them in a dungeon - when you may need them.  You can also create weapons and armor as well as upgrade your members various skills. 

The only thing I dislike about the characters you level up is that at some point you have to send them off to fight with Odin - so you lose them after you level them up and have to level up new characters that are lower than your other remaining characters!  I kinda felt sad when I had to send off that lvl 8 warrior and replace him with a lvl 3 archer - lol - but it's all good.  You don't have to send any character away - i suppose - but that would lead to you not getting one of the good endings - so BEWARE!

All in all - I am not too happy with Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth.  It's an ok RPG but I thought it would hold my attention more than it is doing.  I am still going to play it and try to end it but not with the enthusiam I thought I would have.


More information about Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1483 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus