More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Member Review for the PS

By:
McCoy
08/04/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

As far as I've always known, Symphony of the Night was the first of its kind, going from a level-to-level based game straight to an RPG of running all over the place. It also broke the trend of using a Belmont or some relation to a Belmont, as all of the previous games did so.

As with all Castlevania games, music is great. Of course. Backgrounds look awesome, many different enemies, many different weapons, armor, items, and accesories. The only problem is every weapon is either a club/staff of some kind or a sword... so, there was poor weapon variety. And one big problem I had with the swords is the fact that the short swords seem to be slower than every other weapon... which is very unrealistic. A short sword is a light weapon, not something that takes you longer to recover from swinging than something twice its own size. Aside from the weapons, it introduced new subweapons and cloaks that will change the color of Alucard's cape. Spells are unique and fun, but hard to pull off.

The story is decent, not the greatest in the world, but decent.  Voices... well, I don't understand why everyone complains about the voices though, I see nothing wrong with them. Other than they sound like their voices are echoing, but that's all. I hate the level system how if something is of lower level that you get less experience. Plus the game isn't too challenging unless you make it harder by using another mode.

A good game, not the greatest, but good.


More information about Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
 
comments powered by Disqus