More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Final Fantasy Anthology Member Review for the PS

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
06/30/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Squaresoft 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

With only a few more games to go in my (long) series of Final Fantasy reviews, its now time to take a look at a classical game, one that without a doubt can stand the test of time. Final Fantasy 3, or 6, with 5...

Ok ok, we get it all confused, as Final Fantasy 3 in the U.S IS Final Fantasy 6 in the real timeline, but the game here is Final Fantasy Anthology, a fun, 8 Bit diddy that made a splash on the origional PSX, despite being an emulation.

Normally I would go through my usual points, Graphics, Gameplay and Sound, but I will make this breif tonight. In this package, we get 2 games, Final Fantasy 5, which has never been released in the U.S, and Final Fantasy 3/6, which is quite possibly one of the greatest RPGS ever created. I kid you not. The storyline is one for the ages,with the lovely Heroine Terra trying to defeat the Empires reign, which uses Magitek weaponry and armor, which is chanelled by Espers, goddes that created the world years ago.

The story is actually familiar for Final Fantasy 6, as it resembles FF 7 in many ways. Parallells can be made between the causes of AVALANCHE and the resistance movement in 6, the use of Magitek, and destruction of the earths natural forces. Plus the eventual bloodlust of the antagonists, Kefka and Sephiroth. Kefka is probably one of the more popular villians in FF, and very well so, as he is manical in this adventure. 

Final Fantasy 5 has a lighter story. You star as Bartz, a wanderer on a chocobo who happens to rescue a woman named Reina. Togeather, you roam the land looking for crystals, before a force known as X-Death gets them first. Twists and turns ensue, but honestly, FF5 has an arguably weaker story. But it's benefits are the class system that makes FF so distinguished, the less amount of characters, and the shorter completion time.

If you care for those things. In all honesty, owning this game is a treat, because finding it now is a pain. Graphically, it seems out of date, with SNES graphics on a PSX disc, but that shouldn't matter to a true fan.Sound wise, it is at it's best. Some of the best musical scores are on FF6, and some nice, catchy tunes for FF5 as well round it out. Plus some new in game movies with PSX graphics and other litte additives like CD mixing and the beastiary, make it a worthwile purchase.

In the end, they don't make anthologies like this anymore. If you can find it in the stores still, or E-Bay, buy it. It is worth every penny, that is for sure.

A-

More information about Final Fantasy Anthology
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1348 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus