More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Metal Gear Solid Member Review for the PS

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
11/18/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 98- 98 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence, Mature Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Back in the mid-years of Sonys reign, this realatively unknown game came to the shore of America in 1998. Sure we had some Metal Gear's in the past on Nintendo, but its been a while since we last saw his, so what can it be this time?

Turns out to be a flawlessly blended game with equal parts action, stealth, story, and great graphics at the time to boot!

Graphics

Ok, at the time the graphics were top notch, with strong ploygons, great particle and gun effects, and other neat little extras like footprints in the snow and stars over a person's head. On the downside, they were kind of blocky for some, but that was forgivable. Great for that time, but like OOT, they have aged heavily, but more so for MGS. The gamecube remake looks a lot crisper and better, which is why this gets a lower grade
then what it might have gotten.

Final Score- B+

Gameplay

The meat and potatoes of MGS, tons of fun controls and techniques at your disposal, all of them nicely intergrated with the PS controller. Especially if you had the dual shock thumbsticks, which made most movement easier by this time. Without it, it took a while to get used to. Someone playing though for a few days can overcome that curve.

Final Score: A

Sound

The music was great, the voice acting was great, the simple "Huh" of the guards was great, the chopper blades on the Hind were great, nothing here to complain about, that is for sure.

Final Score: A+

Satisfaction

You like stories? The storyline was top notch, filled with twists and turns and codec cinematic elements, a very worthy storyline indeed. The only drawback was that it drags on a bit in codec moments and cinematics (A trait in the future releases), the storyline is near perfect, one of the best out there. You will love watching it unfold as you play this game, that is for sure. Over 30 hours worth to, so don't say I didn't warn you!

Final Score: A+

Overall: A


More information about Metal Gear Solid
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 2827 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution