More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus Member Review for the PS

By:
Ivory_Soul
12/29/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER GT Interactive Software 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence, Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Superb audio, graphics, great game play that is one of it's kind, great storyline, quick saves are a life saver

The Bad: Extreme difficulty, not the most user friendly game

While I've heard of the Oddworld games in the past I never really bothered playing one until now. I picked up Exodus due to it's quick save feature (PC gamers will know what I mean). While this helps tremendously it doesn't ease some of the game's pain. Some segments of this game are just impossible to pass or to figure out. I don't know if the developers play tested the WHOLE game but if they did they were cheating. The story is pretty good here: You play as Abe who has to save his race from being slaves from the Mudokans. This time they are turning his people into a strange drink...yeah weird plot I know but it works. The graphics and audio in this game are superb and DOESN'T look like a PS1 game one bit...and that's a good thing. The game sports beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds and the characters are very well designed.

The gameplay is what's different than most platformers...you can't jump on people or shoot people. This isn't Mario or Metroid here this is Abe. You have to defeat enemies by either possessing them with your mind or walking them off ledges, walking them into traps, or just plain old avoid them. You can hide in shadows as well. You have to save your pals by having them help you turn valves etc. There are different effects your pals can have such as being slap happy which, as the name says, you need to slap them so you can sneak by sleeping enemies. The game play is always mixed up with disarming bombs, solving puzzles etc. If you can look past the game's extreme difficulty then go for it.


More information about Oddworld: Abe's Exoddus
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1045 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus