More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Syphon Filter 2 Member Review for the PS

SolidSevchinko78 By:
SolidSevchinko78
02/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER 989 Studios 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Released a year after the original, SF2 feels more like a expansion pack than a full fledged sequel. Now that's not necessarily bad thing however looking back on this game now I wished that this game had a little more variety. One of the biggest knocks I give to the game, is the abundance of clunky stealth sections. I forgot to mention in my previous review about some in the original game, but I feel that those were put into to give variety into just basically running around and shooting. In SF2 the stealth sections drag on too long, and is featured in too many levels to the point where it becomes grating. The game shipped on two discs and you would think that there would have been more focus on adding more variety to game versus more of the same, and tossing in some bad stealth sections to the game. Now it might be unfair to really call this game a "Expansion Pack" because it does continue the story featured in the original game. I'm not going to go into much more on the plot because it's really ultimately not that important. But the plot however is one of the most out there plots I have ever seen in a video game and alot of the things that happen in this game contridict a majority of the other plots in the the other games. A character is killed in this game only to reappear in a later entry with a ridiculous explaination as to why they are alive. Structure wise, the game still plays the same, just like the original title. Nothing has been refined in this title, but if it's not broke don't fix it They added a two player versus mode but its really so so. From what I can tell the same graphic's engine was used in this title as well, but there are some cool effects like lens flare, and some neat lighting that wasn't around in the original title. Soundwise the voice acting is mixed, and the sound effects are recycled from the first title as well. Overall Syphon FIlter 2 is a decent follow up to one of the best PS1 games ever, but be warned if you tread into these waters prepare for a lot of frustration. 

More information about Syphon Filter 2
 
Syphon Filter 2
fullfullemptyemptyempty
Views: 812 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution