More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift 2 EXTEND Member Review for the PS Vita

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/31/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Aksys Games 
DEVELOPER ARC System Works 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Awesome characters, high-res sprites, and soundtrack, lots of modes to keep you busy, online play is a blast, Stylish mode simplifies the combat system

The Bad: Overly complex and complicated fight system, too much talking in most modes, starts to feel repetitive after so many hours

BlazBlue is a newer fighter from the guys behind Guilty Gear. The game has crazy characters, beautiful art, and an awesome soundtrack, but has one of the most complicated fighting systems I have ever played. Jump cancels, combo cancels, high jump cancels, canceling mid-combo it continue said combo, this is all just ridiculous and literally gave me a headache. The story is also something to be desired, but the overall characters are fun and the game is a good button masher.

The game also has a lot of modes which means you get your money's worth. Not only do you get arcade, story, and a tutorial mode, but an endless mode, online play, score attack, a full gallery, and a few others. Unlimited Mars is a mode where you fight against advanced AI, and mission mode allows you to fight waves of enemies. There are lots of things to do here, but overall you won't spend too much time in either mode because it all feels repetitive after a while. When I went into tutorial mode I pretty much gave up 3/4 through because of how complicated the fight system is. Thankfully there is a Stylish mode which simplifies the whole thing and allows you to do complicated combos with only a few button presses, but all the other elements like shield barriers, different blocking techniques, this meter, that meter, it all just becomes too much.

BlazBlue does become an entertaining button masher once you get the hang of it, but only hardcore fans will attempt to master the fighting system. I even found the arcade mode to be long-winded, and there's just too much talking in the game. There's a "Teach Me Miss Litchi" section in the story mode that is just constant yapping about tips on the game. You get to experience the other two story modes from past games, but there is more talking than fighting here. Sure, it's entertaining, but I couldn't wrap my head around the overly frustrating and complex fight system to enjoy it enough.

Once you spend a few hours in the game you will put it down at this point and that's when you will decide if you like it or not. I highly suggest renting this first for new comers, because even Street Fighter or other Japanese fighting game vets will balk at this game. The animations and sprites are beautiful, the soundtrack is great, and I can't help but really dig the characters here despite all the complaints. Sticking to Stylish mode eased some of the headache inducing memorization.

Overall, the game is great for fans of the series, but the new comers may want to seriously consider this a rental first before buying. If you do buy it there is tons of content to keep you busy with many modes. Online play is the usual blast, and the only reason to come back to any fighter these days. The characters are awesome with great personalities, and the visuals are stunning. I just wish the fight engine itself wasn't so complicated and complex.


More information about BlazBlue: Continuum Shift 2 EXTEND
 
BlazBlue: Continuum Shift 2 EXTEND
fullfullfullhalfempty
Views: 551 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution