More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Touch My Katamari Member Review for the PS Vita

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/28/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Namco Bandai 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Katamari gameplay is intact, dual analog sticks are a lifesaver, the weirdness is back, nice Japanese inspired soundtrack

The Bad: Poor use of Vita features, extra content is lame, only a dozen levels, headache inducing camera, ugly graphics

I remember when the first game came out, it was something I had never seen before. Rolling stuff up into a huge ball was so much fun, and I played it for hours. Many sequels later fans got tired of the series because nothing would ever change. Sure, a few things were added here and there, but the fundamental gameplay got tiresome. Touch My Katamari adds a new story presentation with voiced hand drawn cut scenes that are as absurd as The King of All Cosmos himself, and that's about it.

There are two parts to the game. You sit on top of the King's head and the left side of his head/roll has items like media player, Prince and King's Garb, Clothing Store etc. The right holds the dozen levels you play in. If you already played a Katamari game you are right at home here thanks to the dual analog sticks. This is probably the best portable Katamari game thanks to this feature. You just roll around a ball of stuff and get bigger and bigger until you finally start rolling up whole towns, clouds, and islands. Don't kid yourself, because you get to this point faster than you would like. Starting out in houses and on top of tables rolling up items like batteries, CDs, phones, candy, and hundreds of other items that were created throughout the series. Later you go outside onto lawns, then into the city to consume everything.

There is only one city featured in this game and you finish the game in just a couple of hours. There are three levels that are different from the norm of the game and that is rolling up 150 items, rolling up food items to equal 30,000 calories, and rolling up the largest cow/bear. The other nine levels quickly rush you to the end. The game sadly tries to extend gameplay by having you come back to earn candies which are currency to unlock song tracks and clothes for the King. It's kind of stupid and not something I wanted to go back and do over again.

Let's talk about graphics. The low-budget blocky visuals were charming and cute when the first game came out because of the low-budget. The Katamari series is no longer low-budget because they have sold millions of copies of the series. The game looks almost like the original PS2 game, and that is not a good thing. The Vita is capable of more than what's here, and this game doesn't do the system justice. The game doesn't even use the Vita's features very well because the touch screen controls are terrible. You can use the rear pad to flatten the Katamari or make it tall. Why couldn't we use the tilt sensor and gyroscope? The last issue I found was the camera. It still has the same issues all these years with the it creating a hole to look through when near walls. This can give you a headache because it feels like the camera is constantly zooming in and out really fast.

Overall, Touch My Katamari isn't worth the $30 price tag. This should have been a $10 or $15 PSN game. With only a dozen levels, lame attempts at extending gameplay (do I really want to dress up the King?), and a sad excuse of a story, Touch My Katamari is disappointing. This is probably be the last Katamari game for me unless they drastically change the series.


More information about Touch My Katamari
 
Touch My Katamari
fullfullhalfemptyempty
Views: 346 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution