More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Vita) Member Review for the PS Vita

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Huge cast of awesome characters, deep fighting system, 3-on-3 is fun and hectic, online play is a blast, wonderfully ported graphics and controls

The Bad: Overly complicated fighting system, no option to just play as one character, touchscreen controls suck, no exclusive modes or characters

Marvel vs Capcom has been a fan favorite for a decade. This version is an excellent portable fighter with a huge cast of AAA characters, tight controls, and a good amount of modes. Online play is what will keep you coming back for more, but the fighting engine has a few issues that most hardcore fans will hesitate to admit.

The story is pretty much a dead throwaway. Galactus is a super giant trying to destroy the universe, but Marvel's and Capcom's are colliding and that's about it. Sounds kind of like Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe right? Ignoring the lame story, you will probably dive right into arcade mode and the first thing you will notice are the 40 some odd characters. They are all here! On Capcom you have Frank West, Phoenix Wright, Amaterasu, Chris Redfield, Albert Wesker, Tron, and tons of others. Marvel's side has Dr. Strange, Electro, Spider-Man, Wolverine, X-23, Thor, Hulk, She-Hulk and more. These are all awesome characters, with each their own unique moves, hypers, and combos. The game is built off a 3-on-3 engine so the game gets really hectic. I wish I could only use one character, but you can't do it. Pick three of your best because each work off each other in tandem.

The way the game uses all three characters is pretty crazy at first. New comers will be overwhelmed by the over complicated combos and controls. I had more fun with the simple control scheme because no matter how much I practiced I just couldn't truly master any character. Even if you go into the mission mode you will probably get stuck on every character somewhere. The button combinations are just ridiculously complicated, and this goes for most Japanese fighters like Soul Calibur. The simple controls shrink everything down to special moves on one button, combos on another etc. This was more fun because I could pull of crazy combos without much effort. The Vita version has a third control option and this is using the touch screen. This is probably for children because you just tap away at the enemy and your character automatically pulls off combos and hypers, but it is usually the same combo over and over again.

Hypers are both cool to pull off and to look at, but not so fun on the receiving end. Some combos can go in the 50+ range if you pull off a hyper. Depending on how many of 5 levels your hyper meter is you can do some serious damage. Have it high enough and you can pull off a super hyper which uses all three characters. These will almost wipe out your entire health bar. There are a lot of technical terms with the game that will take a few hours to get used to. There is jump cancels, super jumps, and all sorts of lingo that only hardcore fans will take to heart.

After you spend some time button mashing in the arcade mode there is a whole Heroes and Heralds mode that is kind of like a campaign mode where you slowly conquer areas. You get a hit list sheet, and if you get 5 in a row you get an A rank card. These cards have abilities that will be equipped with your fighters. The cards take a while to learn to read and understand what each ability does. Some will let your character auto-block, or at level 2 hyper you can jump cancel automatically at the cost of a bar. It's all pretty in-depth and complicated, but some tinkering around and you will get used to it.

The online mode is where all the fun is at, and it is just as fun on the Vita as the consoles. Not much to say here but that it is online. Watch out because you will get your butt handed to you by most players. In terms of other modes the game doesn't really have any, but the online mode should keep you busy for quite some time. The visuals are pretty stunning with lots of effects, great looking character models, and I didn't experience any frame rate hits.

Overall, UMvC3 is a great package on the Vita, especially with Cross-Play on the PS3. The graphics are great, the controls are tight and responsive, but the touchscreen controls are disappointing.  I would have liked to have seen some mini-games, or maybe a few extra modes just for the Vita, but as it stands this is a pretty good PS3 port. If you love hectic, in-depth, and complicated fighters then look no further.


More information about Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Vita)
 
Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Vita)
fullfullfullfullempty
Views: 419 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution