More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Endless Ocean Member Review for the Wii

By:
Ivory_Soul
02/15/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulation 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Arika 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Amazing graphics, wonderful music, custom soundtrack, you can learn about sea life

The Bad: Almost no game play involved, pointless multiplayer, paper thin customization, the ocean isn't so endless as the title suggests

I checked out EO because of it's concept: Underwater scuba diving and interacting with animals. Well this wasn't really executed as well as it could have been. You can dive under the ocean and swim around fish and sea life and hold down A and wiggle the Wiimote to pet it, or poke it, or even grab it and if it likes you you'll learn a new thing about that animal. The problem there is that it's like two lines of info and it takes three days to learn all of the information about the animal. This to me felt really stupid and kind of leaned more toward kids since that's all they can probably take in. Now the graphics are pretty amazing. The game is pretty much one of the only semi-next-gen games on the Wii but plays nothing like one. The way the light filters through the water and the physics are spot on. There are a few other things like taking clients underwater and showing them a certain fish they want to see, you can play with dolphins, but that's all there really is to this game.
    Yes the music is amazing and you can even use your own MP3s off the SD card (gasp!), but there's nothing really exciting about EO to win it a must buy. You'll probably see everything the game has to offer in a couple of hours and that's great for a rental. You can also customize your character but the options are so thin I didn't even bother with it. The biggest gripe here is the ocean isn't so endless. You can only move spots after you've done 100% research on all animals in that area. The area is also very small and cramped. Go ahead and play this game if you just want to look at pretty stuff but don't expect much game play.


More information about Endless Ocean
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 776 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution