More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Member Review for the Wii

By:
Girospeck
01/01/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Intelligent Systems 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Language

What do these ratings mean?

I have played many games that are similar to Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn, but I have never played a Fire Emblem game before.  That being said, I felt like Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn for the Wii was a very cheap game. The game had two primary components; story and battle.  This means that Fire Emblem is lacking any component of game play besides battles.  This may have passed on the Playstation (and even PS2 and GCN L), but does Nintendo expect us to accept it on the Wii as well?  This is a huge flaw considering the power of the hardware, and the wealth of the developer.

 

I found the story to be generic, and worse it was poorly told. The dialog was cheesy; it may have gotten the point across, but not very eloquently. The story was told sufficiently to understand what is happening and primary motivations, but it was painful (and embarrassing) to read.  The voice acting was even worse (which is forgivable; few games have consistently good voice acting). The moral of the story is excellent, but I don't think the developers spent the time necessary to tell it well.

Story – 4.5/10                                                           

 

The battle system was not terrible, but it’s not very impressive either. I have played many similar games, including Final Fantasy Tactics and Disgaea.  The battle system in Fire Emblem feels like a step back (in terms of strategy, character development and player choice), in comparison to a strategy RPG such as Final Fantasy Tactics (my personal favorite). The characters in Fire Emblem already have predetermined classes, which reduces character development and player choice. Level ups granted point increases a random number of ability scores.  Characters can add one of several skills to their characters, allowing for some choice.  The strategy was based on a difficult battle system, yet that battle system's difficulty seemed cheap. This is because you cannot choose your character class development, which allowed the developers to ignore balancing the classes. This leave particular character classes overpowering and ends up with a strategy of 'protect the support' and 'send in the tanks.' The strategy actually ends up becoming simplistic, yet the difficulty remains high.

Battle System – 5/10

 

The game also features no actual gameplay outside of the battle system (the menu towns don't count). This is a Wii game, not a N64 or Playstation game.  I would also point out that many Playstation and N64 games used 2D and 3D maps for worlds and towns, something Fire Emblem skips. I expect improvements, and a world (or a least towns) to roam in.  This would make a huge difference for in bringing the game to life and giving the player a reason to care about the characters and the world they inhabit.

Game play – 0/10

 

Fire Emblem has also taken no steps forward in the graphics department.  Textures were bland, and often repeated, giving very little life to the world.  The focus of development was clearly not eye candy.  The 2D image of the characters looks nice, and some were very stylistic.  For me, graphics are not as important as game play, yet the extremely poor graphics do point out how little effort or love was put into this game (I’m saying this under the consideration that this game is published by Nintendo).   Nintendo, I expect more.

Graphics – 3.5/10

 

.  There is not a whole lot to say here, the sound was adequate, but not excellent.  I don’t have any major complaints, and I don’t have any major complements.

Sound – 5/10

 

In the end, Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn shows no real improvements, while taking a couple steps back.  Non-the-less hardcore fans or strategy nuts may still find some fun (and difficulty) in this game.

Overall – 3.6


More information about Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn
 
D- Revolution report card
Views: 1543 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution