More Reviews
REVIEWS Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!

Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Mario Party 8 Member Review for the Wii

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
06/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Mario brings the Party to the Wii

By: XboxLiveLover
June 16th, 2007

Mini-games fun, but latest could be more innovative.

It's always more fun if you're invited to the party. Mario Party 8 for the Wii is proof. The future of gaming is getting inside the experience, and the Wii's huge success is because of its interactivity.

This version of Mario Party takes advantage of the special way to play on the Wii, and the collection of mini-games draws you in like never before.

If you're a neophyte to the MP series, then you should know it's a video "board" game that has several different worlds to play in, and you move around the board competing in mini-games to win coins, and then stars.

Some feel the series is getting tired, but I have enjoyed each and every version, and MP8 is no different.

There's sports-themed games, racing, exploration, collection -- and they all take place in the bizarre world of Mario and his friends. Race, swing, fish, shoot, skip, jump; there's lots to do here and most of it is based on moving around your living room with the motion-sensored Wii controller.

The different boards are innovative, with new locations and great designs, but some troublesome powerups can leave you feeling the game is a bit cheap as you can you all your hard-earned coins to a random roll of the virtual dice.

If there is a downside, it's that the game isn't as innovative as it could be. Just like the Wario Ware game on the Wii, I thought these two franchises were made for the Wii but, though they're good, they just don't capture the interactive joy to the level we first felt when we got our hands on Wii Sports.

Overall though, this is a great game, either as a rental for a real party when you have a bunch of kids over, or as a purchase so you can play indefinitely with a close group of friends.

What’s right:
Loads of mini-games.
 
What’s wrong:
Could have more original content.


More information about Mario Party 8
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1829 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus