More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

MySims Member Review for the Wii

By:
Dynamo418
10/11/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

My sister owns every Sim game ever made, and therefore it's not surprising that she bought this game for the Wii. I got the chance to spend some time with the game home from college, and well here's the review.

If you're unfamiliar with the Sims, then yikes, wtf?

Therefore, the basics are clear. The Wii version is quite different in several aspects however, such as in the way it's EXACTLY THE SAME AS ANIMAL CROSSING. There! I said it! Now don't get me wrong, i loved AC as much as the next guy, but this game takes everything that was bad (Monotonous tasking, little to DO) and makes it much, much worse. Remember the Animal crossing tasks? Talk to Harry Hippo, go find him the axe of impotence, and bring it back? Well now, it's talk to Susie Smartmouth, build her a bright green bookcase, and lug it back to her (At no charge!). IF she's nice, she might give you a design to create your own colorful ****, so have fun with that. Moving on to...wait? What's that? THAT'S THE WHOLE GAME???? Yeah, pretty much. There are a few fun escapes like gardening and talking to the villagers, as well as the overarching theme of improving your neighborhood, but using essences to build and improve items constitutes the majority of the gameplay. While fun at first, it quickly becomes tiresome and by the end of it i just wanted to throw my essences at the next needy kid who came into range.

The graphics are passable, i enjoyed the art style, although it was obviously made for teens and younger. The music is decent, it's whimsical and works well in the background.

If you look to this game as an upgrade or continuation of previous Sims games, even the previous consolers, prepare to be disappointed. The game takes a new approach, with a completely different style that really can only be compared to Animal Crossing. What can i say i had some fun playing the game, but it's a game that you play for about 2 hours, get frustrated, and go on a killing spree. I know i did.

67/100 D+


More information about MySims
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1366 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus