More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams Member Review for the Wii

By:
Ivory_Soul
02/01/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Sonic Team 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Fantastic music, tons of control options, sometimes pretty, decent concept

The Bad: Controls take getting used too, too repetitive, somewhat dis jaunting story wise

I had high hopes for NiGHTS thinking that maybe Sonic Team will put some effort into a game for once...well I was let down once again. While NiGHTS feels a lot like the Saturn game and the Sonic games they did a semi-decent job with this. While the graphics are sometimes pretty, and while gliding around and making Paraloops to capture Nightopians from giant black holes of doom is fun it gets kind of old after awhile. You can play as either Will or Helen who are two children who land in the world if Nightopia while sleeping. They of course meet NiGHTS (who is a sexually confused Nightmaren) to save the world from Reala and Master Wizeman. Some levels consist of you looping and swooping through an on rails level of collecting rings, busting open cages with nothing in them, and ummm...fighting weird bosses. While the bosses are weird they are the best part of the game such as a giant clown that you have to bounce vertically through a series of obstacles pinball style. You can create you own little Nightopia (think of Chao gardens for old Sonic fans) and visit your friends' online with real time weather forecasting (!) There's not much other than that to say besides the wonderfully delightful soundtrack and the endless controller options. Pick this up for your kid or yourself if you're having a boring weekend.


More information about NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1104 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution