More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

No More Heroes Member Review for the Wii

By:
BlueBomber88
09/27/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Grasshopper Manufacture 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Holy hell.

(arrives in Hardcore Gaming class 101 to teach).  Okay, which one of you noobs has played hardcore games like Contra, Battletoads, the ORIGIONAL Zelda, SMB3, and etc? (All but 3 raise their hands.  I direct the three next door to cooking.)

This is hard core.  Rule #1: When there is a game when you can swing a beam katana, buy it if you are like me.  Rule #2: When you fight bosses such as Destroyman, whose super move is shooting a lazer out of his, well, you know, happy sack (Screw Psycho Crusher and Heartless Angel, this is COOL!) and Bad Girl, who lives in a basement with a baseball bat dressed up as a cross between The Bride and a drunk Marie Antonette (sweet, that's my 100th!  I'm going to Steak and Shake tomorrow to get me a burger!!!  WOO!)  Rule #3.  Don't play after eating a big lunch.  It's violent.  Like Micheal Bay "everything-must-blow-up-because-I-went-nutty-on-the-TNT" violent.  Rule #4: This game's got more plot twists than Lost.

So if it's violent and hardcore, why do I like it so much?  It's funny.  Travis has NOTHING on that Italian plumber, he has a Beam Katana, he's an amateur luchador (learn to LOVE the suplex, kids), he's got a Slot Machine (yeah, that's your Supermove!)... and he just wants to tear everything in half.

Alright, the game.  Graphics are cell-shaded, a la Killer 7.  Charecters explode and die like zits, a la Killer 7.  It's non-linear, to a point, a la Killer 7 (think of it as a Japanese GTA).    And it doesn't suck like Killer 7.  And boy, it's fun.  It's wild, it's zany, it's crazy.  The bosses are insane, and I got 3 on my Top 25 Boss Fight List off the bat.  We don't need no more heroes... we'll be fine with this lovely game for a while.  You can go home, Superman.


More information about No More Heroes
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 801 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus