More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Pokemon Battle Revolution Member Review for the Wii

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
07/28/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action, Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Well, we always know that when a pokemon game is released on the hand-held system, a bigger, larger cousin is on the home console in the future. and This year, Pokemon Battle Revolution was swiftly inducted onto the Wii console, and with that, the hopes and dreams of another winning formula for the Pokemon franchise were to be realized.

Too bad that didn't happen.

I think another year in development would do the game some good, because PBR looks and feels bigger, but is really just filled with a whole lot of hot air and other, fluffy diversion to keep you clamoring to catch them all.

Graphics-

The game got it's technical overhaul, and this time it looks decent. The skylines are realistic, the enviorments, from afar, are breathtaking, and the animations for the  pokemon are stronger than ever. Now, they actually HIT your opponents if it is a physical attack. The animations are jerky, but not too bad on the pokemon, and graphically, the attacks look better than ever before. The human animation, however, is laughable. I have never seen to many agonizing people kick the ground and fall down like clowns slipping on a banana  peel. It's just funny as hell. Poor animations on the humans, but the pokemon look ok.

Final Score- C

Gameplay-

Honestly, the Wiimote is HEAVILY under-utilized for this one. You point to what you want to do, click, and see it work on screen, for an interactive system, thats REAL BORING.

But not as boring as the matches are, which are dragged out and sometimes too long. Unlike the real pokemon games, there is no true story here, and your basically fighting for the sake of fighting, good for real life, but bad for a game. It has no direction and no real goal, except that you have to beat everyone.

And if you do, your prizes include badges, clothing items, pass-cards, and other trivial collectables that Nintendo thought would be cool to put into the game. Yeah, collecting stuff is fun, but the stuff here is kind of silly. It is like buying mii options when you could be getting games on the virtual console. It's not worth it.

Whats the upside? Online battles. You can register friend codes with people, and the message boards are clamoring with them, for private battles, or you can go againt Joey from Germany in a random encounter battle on the net. Too bad Joey has all legendaries,and your puny team comes from your game boy.

The real trick to having this game is by having Pokemon  Diamond or Pearl. If you don't have that,honestly you don't need this game, because it becomes LESS fun, if that's even possible.  Having a game boy game linked to this gives you some more options, like mixing and matching your raised pokemon for a team, or even getting mystery gifts, but those options are still pretty shallow.

Final Score- D

Sound-

Oh, my god! Someone shut up that damn announcer! He makes me want to kill Pikachu. It's not worth having the sound on at all.

Final Score- F

Overall-

Overall, there was a game in here, but Nintendo added too much style and not enough substance.  It's fustrating to play a game you had high hopes for, and find out it just sucks horribly. I hope the next one  on the Wii is a lot better than this, so until then, i'll be off searching for the announcer guy, so I can kill him for destroying my ability to hear.

Final Score- D+

Overall Score- D+


More information about Pokemon Battle Revolution
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 2328 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution