More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Red Steel Member Review for the Wii

Boringman54 By:
Boringman54
07/03/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft Paris 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I'd just like to start off by saying why a bunch of other game sites or magazines are saying Red Steel is bad. I love this game. It all starts out in Los Angeles with you being an American named Scott who is engaged to a Japanese woman named Miyu, who's father, Sato, is the leader of one of the yakuza clans, the Japanese mafia. A person named Ryuichi, who works for Sato, betrays him by killing him and kidnapping Miyu. You as Scott must travel to Japan and rise in the ranks of the yakuza and overpower Ryuichi, who is trying to become the ultimate yakuza leader. The controls in Red Steel are absolutely superb but zooming in is a little hard to get used to because it is so akward. Also, the variety of guns is really good with some being almost a one shot kill with others taking a few shots. The katana fights are very fun to do, even though you do alot of them. The way the health bar works is much easier than other games. If you get hurt, all you have to do is make sure you don't get hurt for about six seconds and then it will regenerate itself. The one big downfall in Red Steel is that is too much like an arcade shooter. Your enemies will all pop out from behing walls, which has been done too many times. The graphics may not be the greatest but they are good enough. All in all, if you can get your hands on a Wii, you should definitely try this game.


More information about Red Steel
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1257 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution