More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Red Steel Member Review for the Wii

By:
CoreyJOmara
03/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft Paris 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There is a lot of negative comments about  Red Steel, but some of you gamers just don't get it. The whole point of launch games is to get you comfortable with the control style of the system. Alas that's what Red Steel does. It's like a training game for the upcoming Metroid Prime 3. And for good reason too, because you will spend a good part of the game getting used to aiming.

As anyone could have guessed, aiming is done with the Wiimote. And if you think this is easier, than you're wrong. Five minutes in you will find yourself wishing for a right analog stick. Not that I don't like the aiming, it's just too sensitive.

The sword fighting was a big let down. When I bought this game I was expecting to go crazy samuiri on those guys. But like I said, it was a let down. The strikes in the game bear little resemblence to the strikes you are making with the Wiimote. And your secondary sword is just a broken one you use for parrying. You can't double stab someone, or pull of a two sword combo. And that's what I found disappointing. Plus, there are only two special moves, both of which do not have that much style.

The rest of the game I must say is in compliance to what you'd expect of a corridor FPS. You can move around, crouch, jump, reload, hold two weapons, throw grenades, and even melee attack (if only so limited and hard). Like I said, use this game to get a feel for the FPS set up.


More information about Red Steel
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1328 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus