More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles Member Review for the Wii

FatalFrameFan1 By:
FatalFrameFan1
12/12/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The eagerly anticipated game 'Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles' reached the UK on the 30th November 2007 and I was lucky enough to get it the day after, and luckier still to be able to go to my friends straight after to play it. The pre-release buzz already had me tingling from head to toe and when I actually started playing it my inital reaction (other than 'SHOOT!!!') was: Brilliant!

To kick things off, I'll start by talking about the graphics of this game so we can get them out of the way (cause I can never go in depth with graphics). If you've ever played Resident Evil 4 (which if you havent, I would be very surprised by (only because of it's overwhelming popularity and re-releases that is)) then you will have an idea of how good graphics can be. So, imagine those graphics...and double them...and again...and then you have the graphics of REUC. The in-game graphics are amazing to say that there is so much action going on and the movie scenes are mindblowingly stunning in comparison to other Wii games I've played. For this, I give the graphics an A.

Next up is the gameplay, something I'm confident I can write well about ^_^ . The controls are simple: Aim and press B, if you want to reload wave the remote and press A to do stuff. That's all you really need to know, not that you even need to read the instructions as there's a tutorial in-game, that's something new! The game works out in scenarios, with different levels IN those scenarios...with checkpointed sections in those levels. It may sound like an absolute ton of gameplay, but you can get through it pretty quickly if you're a sharpshooter (which i wasnt, but still managed to clear through an entire scenario in an hour or so). At the end of each level you get graded in 5 categories (Time Taken, Enemies Killed, Critical Hits, Items Destroyed & Files Obtained) and given an overall grade ranging from C to S. From these levels you get Stars that you use to upgrade the various weapons you've collected during your gameplay (though it could take a while unless you repeatedly get A's and S's). Unlike Resi 4 you dont upgrade certain areas in your guns, you just get an overall upgrade for your weapon. The worst part of the gameplay has to be QTE's, I didn't think there was enough time to react to them...and it's even worse on 2-player because you're given a command each and if player 1 is sitting on the left side of the t.v. and player 2 vice versa... you get the picture. But this is the only flaw I could find.

To finish off this review I'll end on the storyline and the little extras that REUC has. To put it simple, you play through each Resident Evil (except for 2) all the way up to 3. So thats Resident Evil 0, 1 (remake) and 3. After that you play a completley new scenario taking place at another Umbrella Facility entitled 'The Fall Of Umbrella'. In each scenario there is the main story, but as well as that there are extra levels that explain more about different characters and events. Players should note that this is the first game where players can control Captain Wesker canonically, which means we FINALLY get to see what he's been up to (or at least get light shed on it).

That's all from me. Thank you for reading my first review and I hope you liked it, if you didnt then I'll try better next time, lol.


More information about Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution