More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Sims 2: Castaway Member Review for the Wii

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/29/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulator 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Maxis 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Crude Humor, Mild Violence, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Call me crazy, but I am a sucker for Sim games. And games that deal with survial situations. Hell, I once bought this monstrosity before I read about it. But, even when I get it cheap, I usually know what I am paying for. Sims 2: Castaway is a game that could of been better, but it falls into a similar trap that most Wii games have; under-utilization of the controls at hand.

Because the only thing you do in the game is point, click, and watch the action. That's it. We have fishing, spearing, building things, but instead of nifty mini-games, which should of been used to add some depth and replayability, it is a simple click the button  when you think it's right. It's really boring, honestly. And surprising too, because other games, with mixed results, have used the Wiimote for such endeavors. The only thing that the Wiimote is used for is a pointer, and a guide.

And for the Wii, it's the biggest sin you can make. No interactivity like this, when you have potential to do so, would almost always condemn a game to gaming hell, and none of these games are really worth the pricetag in the end.

The game also has poor graphics and is increadibly easy. There is food, literally, everywhere you go. Satisfying the hunger need has never been so simple, just pick a banana or a coconut off a tree, and your done. The graphics are simple, polygonal, and more suited for a Playstation 2 game, and while your sims are the most detailed creature in the jungle, they look pretty crusty when up close on the beach. The menus are the nicest thing in the game, crisp colors and they have a sense of vibrancy too them. This is not a good sign, looks like gaming hell has a seat ready for Sims 2: Castaway

But the game does a few things right, and while they don't usurp the poor control design, they at least make the game playable. First off, the objective system would have a few completeist games hooked, to finish the game off like that. Second, the mindless collecting of supplies, from tapioca root to palm leaves to wood, does have some uses, the creation of better island huts, from a small, open shack to a giant mansion. You can also create furniture, clothing, and play items, you know, the stuff thats practical when in a real survivor situation. I guess the developers watched to many episodes of Gilligans Island. Finally, the game does have some mystery and a little exploration in it, as there are treasure map pieces and stone tablets that would likely open up areas on the island itself that were previously blocked.

Sound wise, the sims talk gibberish, as do the monkeys and boars you encounter. The music in the game, from crazy tiki island beats to sappy sim music, are not so good. The game actually excells where there is no music, it's just the sounds of the jungle, the caves, the water and the waves on the beach, but those moments are few and far between, unless you shut off the music.

So is Sim's Castaway worth it? It honestly depends on you guys. For twenty bucks (thank goodness for discounts) I would say yeah, give it a try. The game has just barely enough to keep itself afloat, but the life raft is sinking quickly. I am not saying this is the greatest experience ever, but it is a great way to spend a three hour tour if your bored. So take a risk if you dare to go through this mediocraty of a Wii game, but at as far as average is concerned, this is probably the best of the bunch.

Final Score- C-


More information about The Sims 2: Castaway
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 2071 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution