More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam Member Review for the Wii

matdevdug By:
matdevdug
02/10/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Toys For Bob 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Language, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Ummmmmm...

As I sit down to write this review, I am fondly remembering the good times my Wii and I have had up this point.  Replaying old games, discovering some new ones, leading Zelda to victory after 31 hours of gameplay, life was good.  There had been some bad games along the way, but overall, my Wii and I were as happy as could be.  Until I rented Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam.

I was in my local place of rental, and I had scored a free rental.  Looking over the rack of movies, I saw nothing worth burning.  In the videogame section, I noticed this game.  Picking it up and handing it to my trust clerk, I headed out of the store expecting some quality gaming action.

God, those were good days.  Full of hope (and a Philly cheese steak from a street vendor), I was expecting some good skateboarding action.  That was before....the entering.  You see, this game, despite it's title isn't a Tony Hawk game like we are used to thinking of.  Instead, its more of a racer with skateboarding moves added in.

What does this mean?  Basically that this game is not worth playing.  Jesus, I hate launch titles.  You get things like this, games that play, but don't do what you are expecting.  If your looking for a slightly boring downhill racer, rush out and buy it.  Don't worry, there won't be any lines for this one.  If your looking for a skateboarding game that uses the Wii controller in new and amazing ways, sorry.  Keep waiting.


More information about Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1365 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution