More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Trauma Center: Second Opinion Member Review for the Wii

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
01/01/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Atlus 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Mild Language, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Im gona apologize in advance, cause im drunk when wrtiting this review. too many vodka and cheery cokes on new yearas...anyway.

Tramuma Center: Second opinion is one of the more solid titles to be launched with the Nintendo Wii, and gests first honor as the first game I beat on the system. Whilze Zelda is a few days away from completion, and Red Still, Call of Duty, and Rayman Raving Rabbits I have not delved into asmuch as I hopeed to, Trauma Center, kept my attention the longest besides Zelda, and is a s olid game for the infant system!

Simple story, as Derick Styles, you must save patients from vairous diseases, including a new one called SIN, a very evil disease that has parasites inside the human body! Not the best thing in the wolrd for people, especially when they cut open your organs like hot knoives through butter!

Graphics-

Graphicly, the game looks really good. There is mostly 2-D sprites and anime styled cutscenes, but it adds to the story if anything.. I actually liked the style that was presented from the game, it made it more engaging in my opinion. Not the most stellar graphics in thw world, but for a game that involves operating on patientds, it's not really needed.

Final score- B

Gameplay- Trauma Center uses the Wiimote very well. You use the nunchuck and the controller to make pinpoint incisions on a patients body, to apply healing liquid, use bandages, and even to pinch arteries and drain tumors of blood. It is a very good port of a game, (despite the fact I nevet played the original vdrsion of the game on the DS, this is my first time playing Trauma Center), and if anything, could surpass the DS version in terms of control.

I also liked the special ability in drawing the star, which slowed down the action when it got to hott at times. It ws hard at first, but eventually you become a pro at it, or you don't need it at all. I guess there is a cettain charm to saving a persons life in each operation, and I have to say sometimes I was ont he edge of my seat as I worked on the procedures. Fixing a persons broken bone structure, to removing the SIN virus on someone was not only a rewarding challenfe, but also a great moment when you finally triumph over it. The contrpol scheme works well, and is a great addition to the Wiii aresanal.

Also the story was great, although some parts were slightly predictable and kind of soap-operaish. The whole bit with the green nurse, the blond one whose name I forget, was kind of clished, but overall, the story was engaging, and made the whole exdperience more rewarding. A great effort by Atlus on their part.

Ffinal Score- B+

Sound- Sound wise, this is the games weakest depsartment. The effects were good, if not a bit cartoony, and the background music was kind of elivator-ish to my liking. It worked for the first few levels, but after a while i was to repetitive. Finally, while there were a few snippits of voice acting, there could of been more besides the "doctor" and "start the operation" lines, which became repetitive as well. While the vioce acting was not needed, they should of went the distance and added it for the wiimake pof the game anyway.

Final Score- C

overrall- Trauma center wasa strong release for the nintendo wii, and is probably the second or third best game besides zelda and rayman, if your keeping score. i guarrentee the game will be a sleeper hit for the new year, so pick it up while ya stilll can! As for me, im gonna finish my codka and cherry coke, and ignoe my pareents for another hour.

happy neew year everyone!!!

final score- B+

Overall Score- B


More information about Trauma Center: Second Opinion
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1801 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution