More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wii Fit Member Review for the Wii

Solaris10 By:
Solaris10
08/28/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Wii Fit was a title I was curious about.

I actually bought it and still play it to this day.

Here are my thoughts as some warning on it:

Number 1: This is not a complete exercise platform for expert. If you already go to the gym or do muscle building... this game is not for you. You will find the exercises to be too simple and not enough punishing. If you are casual about exercises or wish to workout a little...this game is for you!

Number 2: If you do not find enjoyment in exercising at all....then don't purchase it.

Now that these 2 points have been cleared, here is my review.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Presentation: as with many Nintendo title, one thing can describe the presentation.... simple and clean. Not too many fancy things have been add.... but it still do the job. The graphics are a great motivation factor to continue the training.


Graphics: Wii fit is a workout game.... the graphics are not that good. Still, since when a workout game is about graphics?


Gameplay: The strong point of Wii fit. The exercise are well explained and it is actually fun. I learned many other way to do exercises. Example: When doing push ups, I never would have thought to do Side planks. Side planks actually help reinforce your arm muscle to do be able to do more push-ups.

The Wii Balance board is accurate. It can easily pick up weight repartition and movements though it is easy to cheat on it. It is all up to the player to decide if they wanna cheat or not. The exercises are quite challenging for a neophyte or beginners. You are sure to sweat after some of them. After a while, you will adapt.

The key to love this game is playing it like it was an exercise routine. Play it 1 day on 2. If you play it all the time, you will seriously hurt yourself.

Also, playing wii fit and having a normal diet will help you lose weight. In 2 months, I lost 15 pounds and it really shows. Plus I don't feel fatigued or weak anymore.


Lasting appeal: Really depends on  you. For me, I have been playing it for some months.... not many games can make me do that anymore (except persona 3...im 90 hours into the game!!!) .


Overall: Wii fit is an excellent title for people who wants to get in shape and will not get discouraged after a week. I find wii fit an excellent alternative to gyms. I see gyms as a place to optimize your muscles and body. Wii fit is for us casual who don't wanna pay for a huge membership fee and who don't have the time to go to the gym.

The game have it's flaws though. The ugly graphics and the fact it is an exercise game can turn off many people. Also, it would have been nice to introduce more exercises into the bunch. However, nothing keep you from going on the net and find something else to do. I didn't care about exercising at all but am I glad I picked this game up!

Must buy for anyone who wants to get in shape.


More information about Wii Fit
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1645 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution