More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Member Review for the Wii

Barth_Vader By:
Barth_Vader
03/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not a deserving legend


Everybody knows the Wii launch had its fair share of problems, mainly the fact that well, it had just a few games. Most of them weren't very good either. Party game, tech demos like Wii Play and Wii Sports are about as deep as George Bush's speeches.

So there's one big wolf here, and it's called The Legend of Zelda. It's basically a port of a game originally designed for the Gamecube, yet motion control is added. While it's without a doubt the best launch game, it isn't the best game ever. It's good, but not great. It's interesting, but not compelling. You get my point.

You play as Link, well, you don't, but the game gives you a standard Link name if you choose not to adjust it. You look like Link, too. The objective is simple: save Zelda, once again.
I won't tell much of the story here, but after the pointlessly long tutorial-ish story of you doing mini quests, you get to play the main game. You'll even get Link's tunic, so no matter what your name is, you're Link.

As the story continues, you'll be able to transform into a wolf on certain occasions, letting you see the world in a different dimension. I wasn't impressed by it at all. The fact that this is all lineair doesn't help at all.

You'll be fighting all kinds of monsters and you'll be spending hours in dungeons. Trying to solve some of the puzzles can be quite challenging, and defeating some of the bosses can be too. It's not quite an easy game.

Motion control? Sure. Swing your remote left and Link'll grab his sword and give it a dash. This doesn't enhance the experience at all. Pressing a button is just as effective and often not as frustrating. I'd rather see full motion control. This means the remote is your sword and every motion you do in real life, is being done in the game.
Sadly, this isn't the case and the motion control is mediocre.

This brings me to the graphics. Art design is terrific. There will be moments where you'll just wander around and gaze at your environment, but doing that will make you see the washed out textures. It does come with 16:9 support so that's a plus.

The sound is okay too, but the horrible speaker in the Wii Remote sometimes ruins that too. I also noticed some low quality samples (the whizzing sound of your Boomerang for example).
The score is very nice. It reminds me of old school MIDI tunes combined with modern day equipment. Only the song in the main menu is memorable though.

When it comes to lasting appeal, this game can go on for 40 hours, so Zelda fans will get their hands full.

Which brings me to my conclusion; this game is made for fans. I wasn't a particular Zelda fan before, and this game certainly hasn't changed my mind.
While it's the first Wii game with some serious meat on the bones, it's not as impressive as some people might say.


Sound: 7/10
Graphics: 7.5/10
Story: 6/10
Gameplay: 7.5/10

Overall: 7/10





More information about The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution