More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Member Review for the Wii

Barth_Vader By:
Barth_Vader
03/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not a deserving legend


Everybody knows the Wii launch had its fair share of problems, mainly the fact that well, it had just a few games. Most of them weren't very good either. Party game, tech demos like Wii Play and Wii Sports are about as deep as George Bush's speeches.

So there's one big wolf here, and it's called The Legend of Zelda. It's basically a port of a game originally designed for the Gamecube, yet motion control is added. While it's without a doubt the best launch game, it isn't the best game ever. It's good, but not great. It's interesting, but not compelling. You get my point.

You play as Link, well, you don't, but the game gives you a standard Link name if you choose not to adjust it. You look like Link, too. The objective is simple: save Zelda, once again.
I won't tell much of the story here, but after the pointlessly long tutorial-ish story of you doing mini quests, you get to play the main game. You'll even get Link's tunic, so no matter what your name is, you're Link.

As the story continues, you'll be able to transform into a wolf on certain occasions, letting you see the world in a different dimension. I wasn't impressed by it at all. The fact that this is all lineair doesn't help at all.

You'll be fighting all kinds of monsters and you'll be spending hours in dungeons. Trying to solve some of the puzzles can be quite challenging, and defeating some of the bosses can be too. It's not quite an easy game.

Motion control? Sure. Swing your remote left and Link'll grab his sword and give it a dash. This doesn't enhance the experience at all. Pressing a button is just as effective and often not as frustrating. I'd rather see full motion control. This means the remote is your sword and every motion you do in real life, is being done in the game.
Sadly, this isn't the case and the motion control is mediocre.

This brings me to the graphics. Art design is terrific. There will be moments where you'll just wander around and gaze at your environment, but doing that will make you see the washed out textures. It does come with 16:9 support so that's a plus.

The sound is okay too, but the horrible speaker in the Wii Remote sometimes ruins that too. I also noticed some low quality samples (the whizzing sound of your Boomerang for example).
The score is very nice. It reminds me of old school MIDI tunes combined with modern day equipment. Only the song in the main menu is memorable though.

When it comes to lasting appeal, this game can go on for 40 hours, so Zelda fans will get their hands full.

Which brings me to my conclusion; this game is made for fans. I wasn't a particular Zelda fan before, and this game certainly hasn't changed my mind.
While it's the first Wii game with some serious meat on the bones, it's not as impressive as some people might say.


Sound: 7/10
Graphics: 7.5/10
Story: 6/10
Gameplay: 7.5/10

Overall: 7/10





More information about The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution