More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Vainglory Preview
Multiplayer online battle arenas have grown in popularity, yet Super Evil Megacorp hopes to give the franchise new, vibrant life on tablet. I went hands-on to find out if it can be done.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Member Review for the Wii

Barth_Vader By:
Barth_Vader
03/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not a deserving legend


Everybody knows the Wii launch had its fair share of problems, mainly the fact that well, it had just a few games. Most of them weren't very good either. Party game, tech demos like Wii Play and Wii Sports are about as deep as George Bush's speeches.

So there's one big wolf here, and it's called The Legend of Zelda. It's basically a port of a game originally designed for the Gamecube, yet motion control is added. While it's without a doubt the best launch game, it isn't the best game ever. It's good, but not great. It's interesting, but not compelling. You get my point.

You play as Link, well, you don't, but the game gives you a standard Link name if you choose not to adjust it. You look like Link, too. The objective is simple: save Zelda, once again.
I won't tell much of the story here, but after the pointlessly long tutorial-ish story of you doing mini quests, you get to play the main game. You'll even get Link's tunic, so no matter what your name is, you're Link.

As the story continues, you'll be able to transform into a wolf on certain occasions, letting you see the world in a different dimension. I wasn't impressed by it at all. The fact that this is all lineair doesn't help at all.

You'll be fighting all kinds of monsters and you'll be spending hours in dungeons. Trying to solve some of the puzzles can be quite challenging, and defeating some of the bosses can be too. It's not quite an easy game.

Motion control? Sure. Swing your remote left and Link'll grab his sword and give it a dash. This doesn't enhance the experience at all. Pressing a button is just as effective and often not as frustrating. I'd rather see full motion control. This means the remote is your sword and every motion you do in real life, is being done in the game.
Sadly, this isn't the case and the motion control is mediocre.

This brings me to the graphics. Art design is terrific. There will be moments where you'll just wander around and gaze at your environment, but doing that will make you see the washed out textures. It does come with 16:9 support so that's a plus.

The sound is okay too, but the horrible speaker in the Wii Remote sometimes ruins that too. I also noticed some low quality samples (the whizzing sound of your Boomerang for example).
The score is very nice. It reminds me of old school MIDI tunes combined with modern day equipment. Only the song in the main menu is memorable though.

When it comes to lasting appeal, this game can go on for 40 hours, so Zelda fans will get their hands full.

Which brings me to my conclusion; this game is made for fans. I wasn't a particular Zelda fan before, and this game certainly hasn't changed my mind.
While it's the first Wii game with some serious meat on the bones, it's not as impressive as some people might say.


Sound: 7/10
Graphics: 7.5/10
Story: 6/10
Gameplay: 7.5/10

Overall: 7/10





More information about The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution