More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Member Review for the Wii

prohibitedart By:
prohibitedart
04/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I wrote an informal review of the game in a journal of mine, but I thought I'd post here highlighting some of the positives and negatives.  Please note there are some minor spoilers below.


Favorite character: Midna.
I think this is obvious to whoever plays the game; she has the most backstory of any character and actually speaks unlike Link who simply sighs and grunts. (Well, Zant is another choice, I suppose). But then again, Zelda games aren't necessarily about story and characters. Those are previously established.

Favorite dungeons: Temple of Time, Palace of Twilight.
These dungeons come later in the game, but they are a lot of fun. I view them are parallel opposites. The Temple of Time is in the light world while the Palace of Twilight is obviously in the shadow.

Biggest "pain-in-the-ass" dungeons: Lakebed Temple, City in the Sky.
I got stuck on Lakebed Temple after I assumed I had permanently ****ed it up, but my friend, Maht, proved me wrong. So, without his help, I probably wouldn't have found the motivation to finish the game. City in the Sky is the longest dungeon and the easiest one to get lost in. Compared to some of the other dungeons, it's just too tedious. I believe it took me about 3:30 hours to get through it.

Most fun part: Assaulting the Hidden Village "Western style."
A highlight of Twilight Princess was stealthily picking off Bulblins with the Hero's Bow to the tune of Western music.

Most irritating parts: Trying to reach treasure chest #81 with the spinner (which I never did, because I could never gain enough speed); tracking down each of the poe souls and having to wait around until night again to catch them; fighting three Darknuts at the same time in the last room of the Cave of Ordeals.
These things are self-explanatory.

Ending: Satisfactory...


There were definitely some nice moments in the game, but story just falls short. It's much too basic. Regardless, the gameplay was incredible. Terrific puzzles, mini-games, and well-designed enemies made this game worth playing. If you're looking for great characters and story, you might want to look elsewhere.
I'm not sure if I had more fun with the Wind Waker or Twilight Princess; I think there was better design in Twilight Princess, but I remember having more fun with the Wind Waker. It's definitely a more lively game.


More information about The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
 
comments powered by Disqus