More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Member Review for the Wii

subcalvin By:
subcalvin
08/09/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Why doesn’t link get any love?

 

I always wondered why the games are called “the legend of Zelda” Sure there is a Zelda in every game, but there’s also a Link, and he does all the work, all Zelda does is get her ass kidnapped. Maybe its because you can name Link, therefore its not cannon for his name to be Link in every game, “the legend of _______”  would be kind of dumb. But not as dumb as me actually trying to discuss this topic just so I have an introduction for what I am pretty sure will be a short review.

 

*Goes to the kitchen to make a screwdriver

 

Now, where to start? First of all playing a Game cube game in the Wii almost feels like a rip off (hold your horses Mr. Zelda lover, and I mean that in every sense of the word, you disgust me) just because it’s a Game Cube game doesn’t mean its not great to play on the Wii.

The Wiimote and nun chuck feel great. Swinging the wiimote around is fun and it works, though it could have been a little more responsive. On the other hand aiming with the bow works perfectly. With a little practice you will be more accurate then on any of the previous Zelda games.

 

The graphics on the other hand leave something to be wanted. Don’t get me wrong, the game looks good, it has a certain distinct touch to it which is cool. But I am pretty sure the next Zelda game will look better.

The music is also good and will surely bring back some good memories. The same can be said for the story, its kind of recycled. But that is to be expected. I Honestly cant imagine another way to do it. You are the chosen hero of the gods, Ganon is up no good and you have to stop him. “If it aint broke don’t fix it” still….

But this on the other hand does cripple the innovation of the game. There isent much new to game mechanics. Ocarina of time revolutionized the Zelda series, 2D to 3D is a pretty big step. Though TP is a great game it just does not offer many new things. Except a few of the weapons, which are pretty good.

 

My biggest grief with the game is the difficulty. Its just to damd easy, sure its long and will take you 30 hours to play trough (unless you do all the side quests). But you wont die many times . The bosses are great, big, ugly and totally bad ass, but they are also total push overs. Ganon puts up a good fight, but there are to many pots with hearts in them for it to be a problem.

 

TP is a great game for Zelda lovers, and even those who are new to the series. But it dosent contain much new and exiting content, and the difficulty is far to forgiving. It’s a must have for Wii owners (I actually saw it in the bargain bin at my local game store, who the hell traded it? )

 

 

 

 

 


More information about The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
 
comments powered by Disqus