More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Halo 2 Member Review for the Xbox

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
11/08/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Bungie 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Keep an Open Mind

By: XboxLiveLover
November 8th, 2005

Halo 2, is just simply put, one of the most exhilarating, entertaining and unpredictable games of 2004. Halo 2 could also be known as one of the most over hyped games of 2004 as well, and this continuous non-stop of over hyping Halo 2 caused many Halo 2 fans to be disappointed with the game campaign or more specific, the ending of the game.

I’m not going to say what happens or anything but the fact that gamers were expecting a better ending to the game. But why were they disappointed with the result of the campaign? Bungie never said squat about their campaign, right from day one. Most gamers think that Bungie promised something that was what everyone could piece together from the various trailers and stills that were going around on the internet. Subsequently, it’s a thing called marketing, which obviously worked well considering the amount of hype Halo 2 received.

If you did what I did and kept an open mind and didn’t attach anything to it before you play the game, you'll find it to be a fantastic sequel that sets up a third game; a chapter in the story, definitely worth the two-three year wait.

Preconceived notions of what a game will be is what kills the majority of the game in most situations. The only thing Bungie ever promised was a deeper story and game play that was less repetitive, better vehicles and physics, more balanced weapons, and Xbox Live.

That is what Bungie delivered.

The original Halo was a fantastic game because it came out of nowhere, with no expectations attached and wowed us all. With Halo 2, from the minute they announced it, people were all over it, speculating and wondering what it could be like.

There was hype, there was drama, and there were expectations of delivering the absolute best first person shooter game anyone had ever seen.

With Halo, the gaming community got to see the stunning graphics, the fantastic AI, the fast-paced game play, and a pretty damn good story, all delivered in one package; something that had not been done on a console before.

Now we have a sequel that does things better than the original, but it’s simply not as ‘wow’ as the first one because it’s been done before. It’s like having a great piece of apple pie, then having a second piece with ice cream. You know it’s better than the first, but you're used to it by now.

Take it as you will, but people developed expectations, and any sane person knows that most expectations are not met because people's expectations, especially in the gaming industry, are too broad. Even Bungie themselves admitted that three years was not enough time to develop the game. No good developer ever has enough time, as there's always stuff that could be added, tweaked or redone. But in the end, the game has to be completed and sent out to consumers, so it’s a careful balance of what they want to be done to what can be done.

For me, Halo 2 is out of this world; way better than the original in almost every way because I expected only what I knew was going to be delivered. A deep story, smarter AI, enjoyable, fast game play, the ability to take Halo on Xbox Live, and the continuation of the Halo story. And you know what? That's exactly what I got, and I couldn't be happier with the game.

What’s right:
The campaign, xbox live enabled, lots of multiplayer maps, graphics; everything!
 
What’s wrong:
The hype.



More information about Halo 2
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 4166 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution