More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Medal of Honor: European Assault Member Review for the Xbox

Wulfang By:
Wulfang
03/13/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Not Exactly an Assault

    For the longest time, we have seen our brave soldiers go into battle and fight those nazi's or those axis forces.  For the most part, it was entertainment.  Even just last week, I bought myself an uzi, unlocked some cheats and went and killed some nazi's whose aim was worse than a blind cripple.  All things change in time, but MoH: EA changed for the worse.

    If you played Frontline or Rising Sun, then you may be used to the fast paced, quick action close range shooter that has become so popular.  Frontline had some issues with the enemies having horrible aim sometimes, and Rising Sun had some flaws, but we enjoyed it.  European Assault takes close range marine like fighting into long range, and exhausting battles that seem to take forever to move.  I have also noticed the fact that the enemies never seem to depleit in numbers in some battles.  Either they have some human-bunny mutants in the corner going at it, or maybe George Lucas sold his clones to fight for the Germans, but whatever it is, it makes the battles very hard to progress.

    I, like most of you, played the other MoH games and was used to charging the enemy rooms, shooting everyone as quickly as possible, and then carrying on the mission.  When I picked up this game, it was a very hard turn for me.  No more charging, no more lack of strategy, and no more meleeing enemies to death.  Excuse me while I go find a dictionary.

    Don't get me wrong, European Assault has some great features.  Theres a small ragdoll like feel to when you blow up an enemy, and satisfaction when you get to use your rare special ultra melee move.  The power in that move just feels like shattering a skull.  But as you run around punching the air hoping to hit, the other enemies will fire at you like a zoo keeper would a retarded monkey with rabies.  Sorry, I was hoping for a better animal metaphor.

    Adrenaline.  A new feature has been added that brings back your ability to rush the enemy.  As the game goes on and the more into battle you are, the more adrenaline you get.  When your bar is full, you can go into your crazy slow speed matrix mode and run around and do whatever.  Mostly, I use it to charge a group of enemies and kill them all swiftly.  I feel alive again.  Sadly, this requires you to actually fight to get adrenaline.  I don't think this game requires much strategy except to hide, shoot, hide, shoot, get shot, and use your rare and much need medpacks.

    All in all, the game could have been better.  The greatness of multiplayer functionality like Rising Sun had, is gone, and back to player vs player.  Good luck getting enough friends to play at once and actually have fun doing it.

+ Ragdoll
+ Adrenaline!
+ Greater graphics
- That still seem slightly dated at times
+ More life like battle feel
- For the worse, though
+ New weapons
+ Boss enemies
- That fight entirely different from normal enemys
- No old style fights
- Lack of multiplayer capabilities

B-

More information about Medal of Honor: European Assault
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 949 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution