More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

NHL 2005 Member Review for the Xbox

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
11/09/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Sports 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

EA is running out of ideas

By: XboxLiveLover
November 9th, 2005

I've always been a fan of the EA Sports NHL series, ever since NHL 96 was out on SNES, and every year it seems that EA was making the NHL series better and better from then on. But the sad thing is that EA is just running out of ideas for the NHL series. Unless you are a die hard hockey fan, you will just find NHL 2005 tedious and a waste of time.

The graphics of the NHL series have improved dramatically from the past five years but year after year now, there is very little new improvements done to ‘wow’ the gamer. EA does try to make the game as realistic as possible but there is just nothing really ‘that’ new from the previous NHL versions (04, 03, ect..).

After EA introduced the new feature of managing your own favourite hockey league team, it was something new and great that hockey fans, such as myself, have been waiting for. But that’s it, either than that, there is nothing else special with the game except the same old playoff and season play.

EA should really sit down and possibly delay a year or so to get an NHL game worth not only renting but maybe even consider purchasing. Hopefully with the release of newer consoles, they may get the motivation to do so.

If you are looking for an NHL game, my recommendation would have to be NHL 2001. You’ll have the most fun you will ever experience from the NHL series. The graphics are not as great, the teams are out-dated but the ‘big hits’ are just ridiculous and a lot of fun. Not even my favourite player Markus Naslund on the front cover would make me consider touching this disaster.

What’s right:
It has everything from the previous NHL series.
 
What’s wrong:
It has everything from the previous NHL series.


More information about NHL 2005
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1520 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution